Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Fanfold Paper
redmars49
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎04-04-2011
Location: United States
0

Re: T420/T420s and Quad Core

There still might be hope though, because although the PSREF sheet for the T520 does not list 2630QM, 2720QM, and 2820QM as options, they are available through customization on the Lenovo website.

Ctrl-Alt-Del
Andy2108
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎04-18-2011
Location: USA
0

Re: T420/T420s and Quad Core

I would not be surprised if a quad was not released for the T420s.  Its a pretty small platform to fit a 45 watt TDP processor into.  However, with the addition of Nvidia graphics we now have the option to select the i3 or Core i7-2620M.

Serial Port
paradiddle
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎12-25-2010
Location: Toronto, Canada
0

Re: T420/T420s and Quad Core

I'm surprised that they wouldn't offer a quadcore.   For the laptop size, Mac does offer a QuadCore.  

 

If I want a thin portable laptop with a processor to take down serious excel models or do some light photo editing, I would need the power.  

 

Especially when I dock my computer, and want the equivalant of a desktop, a Quad is needed!   

Guru
ColonelONeill
Posts: 6,784
Registered: ‎12-26-2009
Location: Toronto

Re: T420/T420s and Quad Core

[ Edited ]

The small chassis just can't handle the heat well.

Putting in a quadcore would run rather high temperatures than wouldn't be really acceptable. Under full load, it may throttle or overheat.

W520: i7-2720QM, Q2000M at 1090/695/1390, 22GB RAM, 500GB HDD, FHD screen
TPT1: 1839-23U, stock ICS
X61T: L7500, 3GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
lead_org
Posts: 20,905
Topics: 128
Kudos: 1,253
Solutions: 1,344
Registered: ‎12-19-2008
Location: Australia, Melbourne

Re: T420/T420s and Quad Core

Since when Macbook Pro become the standard to which all other laptop manufacturers have to follow?

You can put the quad core in the T420 but it throttles, and as such it is useless.

Macbook Pro would throttle due to overheating even when you are using the dual core version under CPU/GPU intensive tasks, and putting a quad core doesn't seem to be logical given this.

Sure you can put a W12 engine with twin turbo in a VW Golf chassis, but it doesn't mean that every other car companies should follow because of it.
Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
nibs
Posts: 879
Topics: 43
Kudos: 143
Solutions: 39
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Location: Portland, OR

Re: T420/T420s and Quad Core

 

paradiddle wrote:

I'm surprised that they wouldn't offer a quadcore.   For the laptop size, Mac does offer a QuadCore.  

  


Mac offers a 14" MacBook Pro now?

I only see 13" (dual-core only), 15"(quad-core), and 17" (quad-core). You can get a T520 (15") in a quad if you want, or a W520 for serious power, and the ThinkPad will cost you less than the Mac.


------------------------------------------
When asking for help, post your question in the forum. Remember to include your system type, model number and OS. Do not post your serial number.

Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!

If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help others with the same question in the future.

My TPs: Twist 2HU: i5-3317U Win 8 Pro, 4GB RAM 250GB Samsung 840 | T420 4177CTO: i5-2520M, HD+, Win 7 Pro x64, 8GB RAM, Optimus, 160GB Intel 320 SSD, Intel 6300 WiFi, BT 3.0 | T400 2764CTO: P8700, WXGA, Win 7 Ult x64, AMD 3470, 8GB RAM, 64GB Samsung SSD, BT, Intel 5300 WiFi | A20m 14.1" PIII 500 (retired). Monitors: 2x Dell U2211h IPS 100% sRGB calibrated w/ Spyder3.
Serial Port
paradiddle
Posts: 43
Registered: ‎12-25-2010
Location: Toronto, Canada
0

Re: T420/T420s and Quad Core


nibs wrote:

 

paradiddle wrote:

I'm surprised that they wouldn't offer a quadcore.   For the laptop size, Mac does offer a QuadCore.  

  


Mac offers a 14" MacBook Pro now?

I only see 13" (dual-core only), 15"(quad-core), and 17" (quad-core). You can get a T520 (15") in a quad if you want, or a W520 for serious power, and the ThinkPad will cost you less than the Mac.

_________________________________________________________________________________________
This is true - however the 15" is only larger because of the screen, not to accommodate the processor.   The screen is also 16:10 vs. 16:9... 
MBP  0.95 X 14.35 X  9.82  (H - W - D)
T420s  .95-1.05 X 13.5 X 9.1 (H - W - D)
To be honest, I would be fine with a quadcore "T520s", I just don't want the thick plastic body of the T520 or W520.

lead_org wrote:
Since when Macbook Pro become the standard to which all other laptop manufacturers have to follow?

Sure you can put a W12 engine with twin turbo in a VW Golf chassis, but it doesn't mean that every other car companies should follow because of it.

 Ha ha, fair, however I would be happy with a VR6 Turbo :smileyvery-happy:    

 

I don't think MBP is a standard at all, otherwise I would have bought one.   I just want a quadcore in a slim form factor, so I don't need to get a desktop to do photoediting or run through my statistics models.