Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Blue Screen Again
DavidS
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-31-2008
Location: Ithaca, NY
0
Accepted Solution

T500 gives only 100 Mb wired connection; not 1 Gb

I can only get a 100 Mbps wired connection (not 1 Gbps) on my T500.  I am connecting to a Netgear GS605 switch.  I have tried using exactly the same port and cable that gives 1 Gbps on another computer (a Dell XPS 420) but the T500 will still only connect at 100 Mbps.  Both computers are running Vista Ultimate.  I have tried changing the Advanced/Link Speed & Duplex setting (in the Intel 82567LM device driver) from Auto Negotiatitation to  1.0 Gbps Full Duplex but this does not help.  Any suggestions?
community supermod
erik
Posts: 5,034
Registered: ‎11-23-2007
Location: United States
0

Re: T500 gives only 100 Mb wired connection; not 1 Gb

have you tested transfer speeds to see if it's simply misreporting your connection protocol?   i've found more than one system reporting 100 Mbps yet transferring anywhere from 75 MBps to 105 MBps (.6 Gbps to .84 Gbps).

 

also, have you turned off wireless on each system?   i've seen vista transfer over wireless even though a wired connection was present.   unfortunately it doesn't automatically choose the faster connection.

ThinkStation C20Microsoft MVP
ThinkPad X1C · X220 · X60T · s30

zilla
Posts: 433
Kudos: 62
Solutions: 14
Registered: ‎12-26-2008
Location: Sweden
0

Re: T500 gives only 100 Mb wired connection; not 1 Gb

[ Edited ]
for me its the reverse -- everything including the router reports 1gb and i only hav cat-6a cables (10gb) but still never get more than 35 MBps (vista to windows 2003 server)
Message Edited by zilla on 2009-02-02 12:35 AM

T500: Vista 32, 2.8GHz, 4GB RAM, 15.4" 1680x1050, 500GB 7200rpm, ATI Radeon HD3650 + Intel 4500MHD. T42: XP, 1.7GHz, 2GB RAM, 14.1" 1024x768, 250GB PATA, ATI Radeon 7500.

Blue Screen Again
DavidS
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎10-31-2008
Location: Ithaca, NY
0

Re: T500 gives only 100 Mb wired connection; not 1 Gb

The wireless connection was off.  But you're right about the misreporting.  The transfer speed is about 0.3 Gbps.  Not great but obviously better than the reported 100 Mbps.    Thanks for the tip!
What's DOS?
bazie
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎09-20-2013
Location: Poland
0

Re: T500 gives only 100 Mb wired connection; not 1 Gb

I have a similar problem. However, I don't think the system reports wrong bit rate - the switch I connect to reports 100 Mbps, too.
I can return to 1 Gbps turning the card off and on. It works well until going to sleep. During wake-up, it first connects at 1 Gbps (according to what the bridge shows) but then it changes to 100 Mbps.