Support in other languages: 
Reply
SCSI Port
punjabimunda
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎06-23-2012
Location: Toronto
0
Accepted Solution

Which SSD does the T420 use?

Hi,


I am planning to order a T420 with the Intel 160 GB SSD. I searched the forums and it's been said that the SSD is the 320 one with the 8MB bug and also it's not one of the fastest SSDs around.

 

Which SSD is shipped with the T420 now? And if I get a laptop with a HDD, can I take it out and put in a SSD?

Token Ring
muol
Posts: 138
Registered: ‎12-10-2008
Location: United States
0

Re: Which SSD does the T420 use?

The T420 fits standard 2.5", 9.5 mm SATA drives. So yes, you could just order the cheapest HDD and exchange it for a SSD. My T420 runs fine with a Plextor PX-M2 SSD, but other brands will work as well.

----------------------------------
ThinkPad W700, W701, T40p, T420, X200S, ThinkStation D20, ThinkCentre M90z, M92p
Broadband 3G
JDay
Posts: 999
Registered: ‎01-06-2011
Location: Sacramento, CA
0

Re: Which SSD does the T420 use?


punjabimunda wrote:

Hi,


I am planning to order a T420 with the Intel 160 GB SSD. I searched the forums and it's been said that the SSD is the 320 one with the 8MB bug and also it's not one of the fastest SSDs around.

 

Which SSD is shipped with the T420 now? And if I get a laptop with a HDD, can I take it out and put in a SSD?


The 8MB bug was fixed last summer with a firmware update. However it would be cheaper and you would get a faster drive if you just ordered a 7mm Crucial M4 and installed it yourself. You can get this drive for about $210 shipped on Amazon. Just create the DVD recovery disc set before installing the SSD and use it to restore the stock OS once the SSD is installed. I would also order the UltraBay HDD adapter so that you can put the stock HDD into the UltraBay slot. This is useful for keeping weekly backups of the SSD on by using the Rescue & Recovery software that comes with the laptop.

 

http://www.amazon.com/Crucial-2-5-Inch-Solid-State-CT256M4SSD1/dp/B006MQQC0S/

 

http://shop.lenovo.com/us/itemdetails/43N3412/460/6F86C47E2E014840BD6AC53CE9C2297A

nibs
Posts: 879
Topics: 43
Kudos: 143
Solutions: 39
Registered: ‎06-03-2011
Location: Portland, OR
0

Re: Which SSD does the T420 use?

Order with the hard drive, and purchase an after-market SSD. Spend the money you save on external enclosure (eSATA will be the fastest). Then use the external drive to back up your system. Keep external in a fireproof safe -- if you loose your laptop you have a backup. 


------------------------------------------
When asking for help, post your question in the forum. Remember to include your system type, model number and OS. Do not post your serial number.

Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!

If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"! This will help others with the same question in the future.

My TPs: Twist 2HU: i5-3317U Win 8 Pro, 4GB RAM 250GB Samsung 840 | T420 4177CTO: i5-2520M, HD+, Win 7 Pro x64, 8GB RAM, Optimus, 160GB Intel 320 SSD, Intel 6300 WiFi, BT 3.0 | T400 2764CTO: P8700, WXGA, Win 7 Ult x64, AMD 3470, 8GB RAM, 64GB Samsung SSD, BT, Intel 5300 WiFi | A20m 14.1" PIII 500 (retired). Monitors: 2x Dell U2211h IPS 100% sRGB calibrated w/ Spyder3.
SCSI Port
punjabimunda
Posts: 32
Registered: ‎06-23-2012
Location: Toronto
0

Re: Which SSD does the T420 use?

Thanks everyone for your suggestions. I am going to go with a HDD and then swtich to a SSD later, as you have all suggested; it does seem to be the best way to go about it.

Broadband 3G
JDay
Posts: 999
Registered: ‎01-06-2011
Location: Sacramento, CA
0

Re: Which SSD does the T420 use?


nibs wrote:

Order with the hard drive, and purchase an after-market SSD. Spend the money you save on external enclosure (eSATA will be the fastest).


The UltraBay adapter connects directly to the SATA controller. It is also the best option to use since optical drives rarely get used and you can swap between the two without shutting down the machine.