Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Fanfold Paper
sevenrider860
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-29-2008
Location: Newnan, GA
0
Accepted Solution

4965AGN / Linksys WRT600N - No 802.11n ***Resolved***

[ Edited ]

*******************  Problem Resolved **************************
Given the response from others that they have been able to get the 802.11n working on the WRT600N, I reset the router and started again.  I am now able to connect at 270Mbps using 5.0 GHz and at 130Mbps at 2.4 GHz.  I am having problems getting the WRT600N to save setting changes (even though the web ui shows the setting, the router does not apply them) and that may have been the problem with the "n" support.  I use this router only as an Access Point, so all NAT, Routing DHCP and Firewall support is disabled and there is no connection to the WAN interface.  Even though I disabled the DHCP Server setting and removed power multiple times, it took a factory reset and re-configuration to actually get the router to disable the DHCP Server.  Perhaps this behavior is what caused to "n" support to show it was enabled, but not to work.  Who knows...  I do like being able to have both frequency channels available from a single WAP.

**********************************************************************

I purchased the Linksys WRT600N wireless router this weekend.  I am unable to get the 4965AGN card to connect to the 5 GHz or 2.4 GHz  modes at 802.11n.  The fastest speed I achieved was 54Mbps at both 5 (802.11a) and 2.4 (802.11g).  WPA-2 / AES was being used on both.  I went out and bought the D-Link DGL-4500 tonight and I was able to connect using 802.11n with no problems. 

The problem is a compatibility issue between the 4965AGN and the WRT600N.

Has anybody been able to get the WRT600N working at 802.11n?  I notice the Lenovo drivers are much older than the drivers on the Intel site, but I do not know if it is the WRT600N that is at fault.  I would like to keep the WRT600N since it transits at both 2.4 and 5.0.  The D-Link only supports a single frequency (5.0 or 2.4).

Experience from anybody else with this combination would be appreciated.

Regards,

Brian



Message Edited by sevenrider860 on 04-22-2008 09:27 AM
Fanfold Paper
diaz1023
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-30-2008
Location: Oxnard, CA
0

Re: 4965AGN / Linksys WRT600N - No 802.11n

I am using a wrt600n and do connect at 270Mbps, when using it.  i have the same security setting you do, the only thing i did different is to have different ssid for both bands, i do have the 5GHz in mixed mode and as of right now no issues,
billbolton
Posts: 1,839
Topics: 68
Kudos: 167
Solutions: 103
Registered: ‎12-02-2007
Location: Sydney, Australia - Best Address on Earth
0

Re: 4965AGN / Linksys WRT600N - No 802.11n



sevenrider860 wrote:

The problem is a compatibility issue between the 4965AGN and the WRT600N.

I don't know what your problem is, but its not that!
 
I have had 4965AGNs in ThinkPads (T61 and X61) working fine with an WRT600N at ~270 mpbs.  Unfortunately it wasn't my WRT600N :smileymad:, but I now have one on the way it should be here this week.:smileyhappy:
 
In the meantime my 4965AGNs are running at ~130MPbs with a WRT350N.
 
Cheers,
 
Bill
------------------------------
I don't work for Lenovo
Fanfold Paper
sevenrider860
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎01-29-2008
Location: Newnan, GA
0

Re: 4965AGN / Linksys WRT600N - No 802.11n

Well maybe there is hope...
 
What firmware revision are you using with your WRT600N?  The firmware version on my unit shows a higher revision than that on the Linksys web site.  I will be returning the router if I cannot get the speed increase, perhaps I should load the firmware from the Linksys web site and see what happens.
 
I have both frequencies using different SSID values, both frequencies are using WPA2 - AES, and both frequencies are in "Mixed-Mode".
 
While the D-Link DGL-4500 works well, I do prefer the stronger feature set on the WRT600N.
 
Thanks for the reply.
 
Brian
Token Ring
singularity2006
Posts: 118
Registered: ‎12-07-2007
Location: Bay Area, CA
0

Re: 4965AGN / Linksys WRT600N - No 802.11n

I found that the WRT600N was finicky in that it advertised 5GHz but did not give me 300Mb - only 270.  However, my 4965AGN gave me 300Mb.  The primary issue today for all 5GHz devices is that the FCC limits the output power of 5GHz.  U cannot get a signal for 300Mb further than 30 feet or so.  Past that, it drops like the rock.  For best balance of bandwidth and distance, you can only use 2.4GHz in N only mode for 130Mbps.

So maybe for your case - distance was the issue?
T61_Wide | Model No. 7662 - CTO
Core 2 Duo T7250 | 2GB OCZ DDR2-800
82566MM Gigabit | 4965AGN Centrino Pro
JaneL
Posts: 3,867
Registered: ‎11-20-2007
Location: Greenville, SC USA
0

Re: 4965AGN / Linksys WRT600N - No 802.11n ***Resolved***

sevenrider860 wrote:

*******************  Problem Resolved **************************
Given the response from others that they have been able to get the 802.11n working on the WRT600N, I reset the router and started again.  I am now able to connect at 270Mbps using 5.0 GHz and at 130Mbps at 2.4 GHz.  I am having problems getting the WRT600N to save setting changes (even though the web ui shows the setting, the router does not apply them) and that may have been the problem with the "n" support.  I use this router only as an Access Point, so all NAT, Routing DHCP and Firewall support is disabled and there is no connection to the WAN interface.  Even though I disabled the DHCP Server setting and removed power multiple times, it took a factory reset and re-configuration to actually get the router to disable the DHCP Server.  Perhaps this behavior is what caused to "n" support to show it was enabled, but not to work.  Who knows...  I do like being able to have both frequency channels available from a single WAP.

**********************************************************************


English English Community   Deutsche Deutsche Community   Español Comunidad en Español   ru.gif Русскоязычное Сообщество


Jane

ThinkPad Slate, T410s, X301, X200 Tablet, T60p, HP TouchPad, iPad 4, iPhone 5S, IdeaTab A2107A, Yoga Tablet
I am not a Lenovo Employee.
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"!

billbolton
Posts: 1,839
Topics: 68
Kudos: 167
Solutions: 103
Registered: ‎12-02-2007
Location: Sydney, Australia - Best Address on Earth
0

Re: 4965AGN / Linksys WRT600N - No 802.11n ***Resolved***

[ Edited ]


sevenrider860 wrote:

Even though I disabled the DHCP Server setting and removed power multiple times, it took a factory reset and re-configuration to actually get the router to disable the DHCP Server.


My WRT600N arrived last week and I've had no problems with getting it to accept any settings I've entered into it.  What firmware version is your WRT600N running?
 
Cheers,
 
Bill
 
 


Message Edited by billbolton on 05-03-2008 07:29 AM
------------------------------
I don't work for Lenovo
Paper Tape
b_rahul
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎05-07-2008
Location: Planet Earth
0

Re: 4965AGN / Linksys WRT600N - No 802.11n ***Resolved***

As I posted on another thread, wrt600n never got me past 54 Mbps. Could it be a faulty 4965agn card? Should I ask Lenovo for a replacement?
Paper Tape
jalyst
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎05-16-2008
Location: Australia
0

Re: 4965AGN / Linksys WRT600N - No 802.11n ***Resolved***

[ Edited ]
Hi Billbolton,

Do you mind advising where you obtained your WRT600N?
It's getting beyond a joke that it's still not available in our region.

I can wait no longer but I'm skeptical about buying from overseas when one has little recourse etc.


Cheers,
Jed


Message Edited by jalyst on 05-16-2008 08:52 PM
billbolton
Posts: 1,839
Topics: 68
Kudos: 167
Solutions: 103
Registered: ‎12-02-2007
Location: Sydney, Australia - Best Address on Earth
0

Re: 4965AGN / Linksys WRT600N - No 802.11n ***Resolved***



jalyst wrote:
 
Do you mind advising where you obtained your WRT600N?
 

Through US eBay... there are numerous sellers who will ship to Australia!  Remember to check the sellers's shipping rates and factor that into your assessment of any potential eBay deal!  A seemingly attractive offer price can be spolt by a high shipping rate!
 
I watched the eBay action of WRT600Ns for a couple of weeks to see what the deals were like before buying.  Not all sellers have product on offer all the time, so you need to watch for a while to get a feel for who is offering the product you want at that time and what sort of feedback the have, etc etc.  Since the WRT600N is a current product, the deals on offer do change as supply varies etc.
 
Also keep in mind there is no Australian support from Linksys for the US version of WRT600N (and there probably never will be) so you basically need to be prepared to accept the risk that you might do your dough on it!  For me that was an acceptable risk given the potential benefit.
 
Cheers,
 
Bill
------------------------------
I don't work for Lenovo