Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Paper Tape
meneedeat
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎07-06-2008
Location: Brisbane, Australia
0

BIOS Flashing

how can i flash the bios on my thinkpad t42?
Desktop: AMD Athlon X2 4000+ 4GB Ram 0.9TB Hdd 8500GT 256Mb
Laptop: T42 1.8 Centrino 1Gb Ram 160Gb Hdd ATi Radeon 7500 32Mb
802.11n
icantux
Posts: 265
Registered: ‎02-04-2008
Location: Canada
0

Re: BIOS Flashing

[ Edited ]

Hi!

 

You'll find the latest version of the BIOS as well as a full set of instructions on flashing the BIOS for your machine on this page of Lenovo's support site:

 

 BIOS update (non-diskette) for T42

 

Hope that helps

Steve

 

PS - Please keep in mind that if everything works well on your machine, you do not necessarily have to flash the BIOS. Also keep in mind that the battery must be fully charged before proceeding and the machine has to be plugged in. If the machine lacks power and turns off during the flashing process, it could be rendered useless, requiring a full motherboard replacement.

Message Edited by icantux on 07-07-2008 02:44 PM
Paper Tape
meneedeat
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎07-06-2008
Location: Brisbane, Australia
0

Re: BIOS Flashing

thank you but will this work if i cant get into the boot menu?
Desktop: AMD Athlon X2 4000+ 4GB Ram 0.9TB Hdd 8500GT 256Mb
Laptop: T42 1.8 Centrino 1Gb Ram 160Gb Hdd ATi Radeon 7500 32Mb
ajkula66
Posts: 7,628
Kudos: 757
Solutions: 800
Registered: ‎11-23-2007
Location: USA
0

Re: BIOS Flashing

I don't quite understand what you mean by "not being to able to get into boot menu", but if your BIOS is locked I wouldn't attempt flashing it.
Cheers,

George




In daily use: R60F, R500F, T61, T410

Collecting dust: T60

Enjoying retirement: A31p, T42p,

Non-ThinkPads: Panasonic CF-31 & CF-52, HP 8760W




Starting Thursday, 08/14/2014 I'll be away from the forums until further notice. Please do NOT send private messages since I won't be able to read them. Thank you.
.
Paper Tape
meneedeat
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎07-06-2008
Location: Brisbane, Australia
0

Re: BIOS Flashing

yes it is locked but i dont know a way around it. my friend at work said that the only way around it is to ring lenovo and see what they say.

im a technician but i only deal in desktops so this is newish to me

Desktop: AMD Athlon X2 4000+ 4GB Ram 0.9TB Hdd 8500GT 256Mb
Laptop: T42 1.8 Centrino 1Gb Ram 160Gb Hdd ATi Radeon 7500 32Mb
ajkula66
Posts: 7,628
Kudos: 757
Solutions: 800
Registered: ‎11-23-2007
Location: USA
0

Re: BIOS Flashing

Lenovo is not going to say anything, and neither is anyone on this forum. You'll just have to get the password from whoever set it...

 

Good luck.

Cheers,

George




In daily use: R60F, R500F, T61, T410

Collecting dust: T60

Enjoying retirement: A31p, T42p,

Non-ThinkPads: Panasonic CF-31 & CF-52, HP 8760W




Starting Thursday, 08/14/2014 I'll be away from the forums until further notice. Please do NOT send private messages since I won't be able to read them. Thank you.
.
JaneL
Posts: 3,869
Registered: ‎11-20-2007
Location: Greenville, SC USA
0

Re: BIOS Flashing


meneedeat wrote:

yes it is locked but i dont know a way around it.


 

Sorry, but discussions of methods to bypass passwords are prohibited in this forum (and at TPF and NBR as well).  You'll need to get the password from the person who set it.

 

Locking thread.

English English Community   Deutsche Deutsche Community   Español Comunidad en Español   ru.gif Русскоязычное Сообщество


Jane

ThinkPad Slate, T410s, X301, X200 Tablet, T60p, HP TouchPad, iPad 4, iPhone 5S, IdeaTab A2107A, Yoga Tablet
I am not a Lenovo Employee.
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"!