Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Punch Card
leathal
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎03-14-2009
Location: Canada
0

Re: Install Windows 7 x64 with/without SP1


TuuS wrote:

Unless you have a modified windows setup disc that has drivers removed, it won't need any drivers at all to install. I've done this on every model of T61.

 

The intel matrix chipset drivers is for your system board, which has an integrated harddrive controller. If windows says it cannot find the device, that means your drivers are not the correct ones for a T61, it's not the harddrive it cannot find. 


Thanks for the update so were do you I find the proper driver from Lenovo? The ones on their website don't work and the one from Intel doesn't work either.

 

Bit Torrent
TuuS
Posts: 2,029
Registered: ‎01-02-2011
Location: US
0

Re: Install Windows 7 x64 with/without SP1

The drivers work when used as intended, which is after installing windows. None are needed during install, that is the point I was trying to make.

ThinkPad W-510 i7-820QM(1.73-3.06GHz) Quad Core... ThinkPad T500, T9900, 8gb SSD...FrankNpad T-60p/61p (X9000 2.8ghz) 8gb SSD ips FlexView...ThinkPad T-61p (T9300 2.5ghz) 8gb ram...Thinkpad X-61 Tablet 4gb ram...ThinkPad A-31 (1.9ghz P4 1.5gb ram)
goretsky
Posts: 2,064
Topics: 19
Kudos: 370
Solutions: 145
Registered: ‎12-01-2007
Location: California, USA
0

Re: Install Windows 7 x64 with/without SP1

Hello,

 

I wonder if your installation media might be damaged.  You can obtain replacement media direct from Microsoft if you purchased a retail or system builder package. 

 

Regards,

 

Aryeh Goretsky

 



I am a volunteer and neither a Lenovo nor a Microsoft employee. • Dexter is a good dog • Dexter je dobrý pes
S230u (3347-4HU)X220 (4286-CTO)W510 (4318-CTO)W530 (2441-4R3)X100e (3508-CTO)X120e (0596-CTO)T61p (6459-CTO)T43p (2678-H7U)T42 (2378-R4U)T23 (2648-LU7)
de.gif  Deutsche Community es.gif  Comunidad en Español ru.gif Русскоязычное Сообщество
Punch Card
leathal
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎03-14-2009
Location: Canada
0

Re: Install Windows 7 x64 with/without SP1

The installation media works find. I use it on a T43 without any problems. 

 

For argument sake I took a T410 restore CD set for Windows 7 x64 SP1 and iinstalled it on the T61. After the system was finsihed it restarted and loaded Windows 7 without any issues, whats interesting is once I got all the drivers updated including the matrix/RapidStore driver uptodate I switched the hard drive from another T61 which took Windows 7 x64 (same media to come to think of it) and tried to boot from the HD, I was surpried to find the driver that this particular T61 uses is different than the stock driver, the OS blue screened on the other T61, when I switched it back to my 2767-CTO machine it booted up fine. 

 

So something is different.

 

Once I had both Windows 7 machines running side by side I compared the ATA drivers and I was surprised to see the 2767-CTO chipset was slightly different than the other T61. 

 

 

Bit Torrent
TuuS
Posts: 2,029
Registered: ‎01-02-2011
Location: US
0

Re: Install Windows 7 x64 with/without SP1


leathal wrote:
2767-CTO chipset was slightly different than the other T61. 

 

 



2767-cto is a T400, it should be different then a T61

 

Perhaps this is just a typo, but I'm unable to understand exactly what you've done, exactly what your using, and how your doing it because your posts are vague and confusing. 

 

Speaking for myself, but probably for most of the rest of the members here, we are all welcome to try and help you, to the best of our abilities, but you need to make an effort to provide 100% accurate and clear info so we can fully understand what your doing. If you do indeed have a problem, this will make it clear where it exists.

 

So far the best I can figure is your using an unspecified windows install disc, but instead of letting it install windows, your trying to slip in updated sata drivers. This is what is confusing me because it's totally unnecessary, unless you have a proprietary windows disc that has had driver packs removed from it, so is unable to find the harddrive.

 

Please tell us exactly what installation media you're using and where it came from.

 

Please tell us the machine your referring to in each sentence, it appears you've referred to at least 4-5 different computers, at least two T61, a T400 and a T410. We also don't know which T61 you're referring to, there were three different ones made by Lenovo, the 14.1" standard, 14.1" widescreen, and 15.4" widescreen. They were available in in three basic levels, Intel graphics, discrete nVidia, and "P" series with nVidia, all of which were divided into Merom class (older) and Merom/Penryn class (newer). I'm sure slightly different hardware versions were used during the 2yr+ production of this series, so that wouldn't surprise me, but I've installed windows seven on about every possible combination of them and never seen one that won't install from a normal untouched windows seven setup disc. No drivers are needed during install.

 

 

ThinkPad W-510 i7-820QM(1.73-3.06GHz) Quad Core... ThinkPad T500, T9900, 8gb SSD...FrankNpad T-60p/61p (X9000 2.8ghz) 8gb SSD ips FlexView...ThinkPad T-61p (T9300 2.5ghz) 8gb ram...Thinkpad X-61 Tablet 4gb ram...ThinkPad A-31 (1.9ghz P4 1.5gb ram)
Punch Card
leathal
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎03-14-2009
Location: Canada
0

Re: Install Windows 7 x64 with/without SP1

The machine I am working with is a Lenovo T61 (type: 2767-CTO) which has the 14.1" widescreen (1440x900) display. It also has a C2D vPro 2.5Ghz CPU, fingerprint reader, 160GB hard drive, DVD burner, a Serria Wireless card preset for Telus, Wifi, etc. ALso it has 3GB of RAM, and latest bios are installed.

 

I have used Microsft's TechNet Windows 7 x64 SP1 media Professional and Enterprise, media has been tested on other T61's we have in the office and it works. I have switched the CD/DVD driver around to rule out a drive issue.

 

Failing to install Windows 7 I took a chance and grab a set of system built T410 Windows 7 x64 SP1 restore DVDs and was able to restore all of them onto the T61. It boots into Windows 7 just fine, I removed some of the drivers as the system doesn't use them and let System Updates take care of the rest.

 

For kicks and giggles and removed the hard drive from the 2767-CTO macine and stuck it into another Lenovo T61 14.1" widescreen model (it was a non CTO macine) to see if it would boot up but it doesn't, after the Windows 7 logo appears the machine blue screens and it happens so fast that I can't see the error message. So I put the hard drive back and looked in the device manager on both machines.  I noticed the 2767-CTO has a different AHCI chipset than the non-CTO T61 I had put the hard drive into and that blue screened at startup. 

 

A.

Bit Torrent
TuuS
Posts: 2,029
Registered: ‎01-02-2011
Location: US
0

Re: Install Windows 7 x64 with/without SP1


leathal wrote:

The machine I am working with is a Lenovo T61 (type: 2767-CTO) which has the 14.1" widescreen (1440x900) display. It also has a C2D vPro 2.5Ghz CPU, fingerprint reader, 160GB hard drive, DVD burner, a Serria Wireless card preset for Telus, Wifi, etc. ALso it has 3GB of RAM, and latest bios are installed.



Here's the problem, That is NOT a T61, it's a T400.

 

It's possible someone installed some T61 parts on it, so it could have a T61 logo, but that doesn't make it a T61.

 

 

ThinkPad W-510 i7-820QM(1.73-3.06GHz) Quad Core... ThinkPad T500, T9900, 8gb SSD...FrankNpad T-60p/61p (X9000 2.8ghz) 8gb SSD ips FlexView...ThinkPad T-61p (T9300 2.5ghz) 8gb ram...Thinkpad X-61 Tablet 4gb ram...ThinkPad A-31 (1.9ghz P4 1.5gb ram)
Punch Card
leathal
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎03-14-2009
Location: Canada
0

Re: Install Windows 7 x64 with/without SP1

You funny. The T410's frame doesn't fit a T61 motherboard, nor would the keboard and trackpad of a T61 would work on a T410. :smileyhappy:

 

Nice try though.

Bit Torrent
TuuS
Posts: 2,029
Registered: ‎01-02-2011
Location: US
0

Re: Install Windows 7 x64 with/without SP1

I suggest you invest in some glasses, if you can't read what I wrote in a forum post,, then you probably cannot read the numbers on your laptop any better.

 

I'll try one more time, then I'm thurough trying to help you.

 

Model 2767-CTO is a T400  (never said it was a T410)

 

If you don't believe me, go look it up on lenovo website.

ThinkPad W-510 i7-820QM(1.73-3.06GHz) Quad Core... ThinkPad T500, T9900, 8gb SSD...FrankNpad T-60p/61p (X9000 2.8ghz) 8gb SSD ips FlexView...ThinkPad T-61p (T9300 2.5ghz) 8gb ram...Thinkpad X-61 Tablet 4gb ram...ThinkPad A-31 (1.9ghz P4 1.5gb ram)
Punch Card
leathal
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎03-14-2009
Location: Canada
0

Re: Install Windows 7 x64 with/without SP1

Sorry your right. I seem to have my own T400 on my mind lately, I guess its because I am trying to convert it over to run OSX Lion. :smileyhappy:

 

Anyhow the actual Type for this T61 is 7658-CTO, the other T61 I switched the HD on is a 7664-17U

 

The specs on both are as follows:

 

7658-CTO

BIOS version 2.29

BIOS date: 2011-03-18

Embedded Controller Version 1.08

CPU Type: Intel Core 2 Duo T9500 2.60Ghz

Memory: 3072MB

 

7664-17U

BIOS version 2.27

BIOS date: 2010-04-08

Embedded Controller Version 1.08

CPU Type: Intel Core 2 Duo T7300 2.00Ghz

Memory: 2048MB