Support in other languages: 
Reply
Token Ring
parmardilan
Posts: 244
Registered: ‎07-13-2011
Location: Deep in the Heart of Texas (Dallas)
0

Lenovo T60 Volume buttons HELP

I just clean installed Windows 7 on my dad's old work laptop (he gave it to me!!) and i installed all the drivers and on Windows 7 the volume only goes up from 1-15 not 1-50 like all other ThinkPads i wonder why?

 

BTW I installed Windows 7 on my dad's laptop T61 and it goes up to 50. So does my uncle's ThinkPad edge.

 

Lenovo T60 1953-D9U Windows 7 Ultimate

 

Lenovo T61 7665-D61 Windows 7 Professional

 

Believe me i will understand I'm 12 years old I can learn new tricks.

 

The ThinkVantage Button also works. (Just for info)

ThinkPad Twist S230U-
OS-Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
CPU-Intel Core i7 3517U @ 1.90GHz Ivy Bridge 22nm Technology
RAM-8.00GB Single-Channel DDR3 @ 665MHz (9-9-9-24)
Motherboard-LENOVO 3347CTO (CPU Socket - U3E1)
Graphics-Wide viewing angle & High density FlexView Display 1366x768 (1366x768@60Hz) Intel HD Graphics 4000 (Lenovo)
Storage-298GB Seagate ST320LT007-9ZV142 (SATA) 22GB SanDisk SSD U100 24GB (SSD) 29GB SDHC Card (SCSI)
Audio-Realtek High Definition Audio
Guru
ColonelONeill
Posts: 6,335
Registered: ‎12-26-2009
Location: Toronto
0

Re: Lenovo T60 Volume buttons HELP

AFAIK, the T60 will do that.
W520: i7-2720QM, Q2000M at 1099/688/1377, 22GB RAM, 500GB HDD, FHD screen
TPT1: 1839-23U, stock ICS
X61T: L7500, 3GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
billbolton
Posts: 1,831
Topics: 68
Kudos: 164
Solutions: 103
Registered: ‎12-02-2007
Location: Sydney, Australia - Best Address on Earth
0

Re: Lenovo T60 Volume buttons HELP


parmardilan wrote:

Windows 7 the volume only goes up from 1-15 not 1-50 like all other ThinkPads i wonder why?


In the ThinkPad T series models up to the T60, audio volume was (primarily) controlled in hardware.  On models later than that, it is controlled in software.

 

Cheers,

 

Bill

 


 

------------------------------
I don't work for Lenovo
lead_org
Posts: 20,351
Topics: 128
Kudos: 1,201
Solutions: 1,277
Registered: ‎12-19-2008
Location: Australia, Melbourne
0

Re: Lenovo T60 Volume buttons HELP

This is what i get with my T60 (MTM 2008-GVM) in Windows 7.

 

volume bar.PNG

Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
Token Ring
parmardilan
Posts: 244
Registered: ‎07-13-2011
Location: Deep in the Heart of Texas (Dallas)
0

Re: Lenovo T60 Volume buttons HELP

actually it goes up to 14

 

and my brightness is 15

can anybody help at all some guy told me that the t60 was hardware controlled

 

so how do i fix that ??

ThinkPad Twist S230U-
OS-Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
CPU-Intel Core i7 3517U @ 1.90GHz Ivy Bridge 22nm Technology
RAM-8.00GB Single-Channel DDR3 @ 665MHz (9-9-9-24)
Motherboard-LENOVO 3347CTO (CPU Socket - U3E1)
Graphics-Wide viewing angle & High density FlexView Display 1366x768 (1366x768@60Hz) Intel HD Graphics 4000 (Lenovo)
Storage-298GB Seagate ST320LT007-9ZV142 (SATA) 22GB SanDisk SSD U100 24GB (SSD) 29GB SDHC Card (SCSI)
Audio-Realtek High Definition Audio
Token Ring
parmardilan
Posts: 244
Registered: ‎07-13-2011
Location: Deep in the Heart of Texas (Dallas)
0

Re: Lenovo T60 Volume buttons HELP

hey bill you seem to know what your talking about

 

so how do i fix this you seem pretty knowledgeable

ThinkPad Twist S230U-
OS-Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
CPU-Intel Core i7 3517U @ 1.90GHz Ivy Bridge 22nm Technology
RAM-8.00GB Single-Channel DDR3 @ 665MHz (9-9-9-24)
Motherboard-LENOVO 3347CTO (CPU Socket - U3E1)
Graphics-Wide viewing angle & High density FlexView Display 1366x768 (1366x768@60Hz) Intel HD Graphics 4000 (Lenovo)
Storage-298GB Seagate ST320LT007-9ZV142 (SATA) 22GB SanDisk SSD U100 24GB (SSD) 29GB SDHC Card (SCSI)
Audio-Realtek High Definition Audio
Token Ring
parmardilan
Posts: 244
Registered: ‎07-13-2011
Location: Deep in the Heart of Texas (Dallas)
0

Re: Lenovo T60 Volume buttons HELP

mine is like his the guy showing above

ThinkPad Twist S230U-
OS-Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
CPU-Intel Core i7 3517U @ 1.90GHz Ivy Bridge 22nm Technology
RAM-8.00GB Single-Channel DDR3 @ 665MHz (9-9-9-24)
Motherboard-LENOVO 3347CTO (CPU Socket - U3E1)
Graphics-Wide viewing angle & High density FlexView Display 1366x768 (1366x768@60Hz) Intel HD Graphics 4000 (Lenovo)
Storage-298GB Seagate ST320LT007-9ZV142 (SATA) 22GB SanDisk SSD U100 24GB (SSD) 29GB SDHC Card (SCSI)
Audio-Realtek High Definition Audio
Token Ring
parmardilan
Posts: 244
Registered: ‎07-13-2011
Location: Deep in the Heart of Texas (Dallas)
0

Re: Replace Lenovo T60 screen instructions

hi i have a ThinkPad T60 it is running Windows 7 and my volume buttons only go up to 14 so from 1-14 and my brightness is 1-7

ThinkPad Twist S230U-
OS-Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
CPU-Intel Core i7 3517U @ 1.90GHz Ivy Bridge 22nm Technology
RAM-8.00GB Single-Channel DDR3 @ 665MHz (9-9-9-24)
Motherboard-LENOVO 3347CTO (CPU Socket - U3E1)
Graphics-Wide viewing angle & High density FlexView Display 1366x768 (1366x768@60Hz) Intel HD Graphics 4000 (Lenovo)
Storage-298GB Seagate ST320LT007-9ZV142 (SATA) 22GB SanDisk SSD U100 24GB (SSD) 29GB SDHC Card (SCSI)
Audio-Realtek High Definition Audio
goretsky
Posts: 1,783
Topics: 18
Kudos: 326
Solutions: 119
Registered: ‎12-01-2007
Location: California, USA
0

Re: Lenovo T60 Volume buttons HELP

Hello,

 

Just to verify, have you installed Lenovo's ThinkVantage System Update software?  It is used to automatically detect and install missing or old device drivers with the latest one's from Lenovo's web site, so that you do not have to perform a manual installation.

 

Regards,

 

Aryeh Goretsky

 



I am a volunteer and neither a Lenovo nor a Microsoft employee. • Dexter is a good dog • Dexter je dobrý pes
S230u (3347-4HU)X220 (4286-CTO)W510 (4318-CTO)X120e (0596-CTO)T61p (6459-CTO)T43p (2678-H7U)T42 (2378-R4U)T23 (2648-LU7)
de.gif  Deutsche Community es.gif  Comunidad en Español
Token Ring
parmardilan
Posts: 244
Registered: ‎07-13-2011
Location: Deep in the Heart of Texas (Dallas)
0

Re: Lenovo T60 Volume buttons HELP

yes i do have it and use it a lot :smileyvery-happy:

ThinkPad Twist S230U-
OS-Windows 8.1 Pro 64-bit
CPU-Intel Core i7 3517U @ 1.90GHz Ivy Bridge 22nm Technology
RAM-8.00GB Single-Channel DDR3 @ 665MHz (9-9-9-24)
Motherboard-LENOVO 3347CTO (CPU Socket - U3E1)
Graphics-Wide viewing angle & High density FlexView Display 1366x768 (1366x768@60Hz) Intel HD Graphics 4000 (Lenovo)
Storage-298GB Seagate ST320LT007-9ZV142 (SATA) 22GB SanDisk SSD U100 24GB (SSD) 29GB SDHC Card (SCSI)
Audio-Realtek High Definition Audio