Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
WWAN
mixz1
Posts: 390
Registered: ‎01-22-2008
Location: Cancun, Mexico
0
Accepted Solution

T30 Power Switch does not start computer

New motherboard installed by Lenovo Mexico on an out-of warranty T30. Machine will not start. Any ideas as to where to begin (outside of sending machine back for another long stay) would be appreciated. Not my machine. Favor for a friend.

T520 4239-CTO
T61/p 6459-CTO (Gone but not forgotten)
A31/p XP Pro 1 gig memory
A30/p XP Pro 1 gig memory
TP600 Win 2K 288 mb memory
701C Win 98 Don't ask
lead_org
Posts: 20,905
Topics: 128
Kudos: 1,253
Solutions: 1,344
Registered: ‎12-19-2008
Location: Australia, Melbourne
0

Re: T30 Power Switch does not start computer

does any of the LED flash when you press the on/off button?

Didn't Lenovo Mexico test the machine before sending it back?
Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
ajkula66
Posts: 7,628
Kudos: 757
Solutions: 800
Registered: ‎11-23-2007
Location: USA
0

Re: T30 Power Switch does not start computer

I've had some weird experiences with power buttons on T30 keyboards back in the days.

 

Have you tried powering it on with another keyboard?

Cheers,

George




In daily use: R60F, R500F, T61, T410

Collecting dust: T60

Enjoying retirement: A31p, T42p,

Non-ThinkPads: Panasonic CF-31 & CF-52, HP 8760W




Starting Thursday, 08/14/2014 I'll be away from the forums until further notice. Please do NOT send private messages since I won't be able to read them. Thank you.
.
WWAN
mixz1
Posts: 390
Registered: ‎01-22-2008
Location: Cancun, Mexico
0

Re: T30 Power Switch does not start computer


ajkula66 wrote:

I've had some weird experiences with power buttons on T30 keyboards back in the days.

 

Have you tried powering it on with another keyboard?

Trying to find another KB down here may be difficult. I have yet to see the machine, which will be brought to me on Sunday. I'll report back.

 

T520 4239-CTO
T61/p 6459-CTO (Gone but not forgotten)
A31/p XP Pro 1 gig memory
A30/p XP Pro 1 gig memory
TP600 Win 2K 288 mb memory
701C Win 98 Don't ask
WWAN
mixz1
Posts: 390
Registered: ‎01-22-2008
Location: Cancun, Mexico
0

Re: T30 Power Switch does not start computer


lead_org wrote:
does any of the LED flash when you press the on/off button?

Didn't Lenovo Mexico test the machine before sending it back?

This machine has a cloudy service history; long delays and several trips to repair depots. Plus it is way out of warranty and it's primary use was hosting BMW and Mercedes service and parrt manuals in a garage environment. I haven't seen it yet. I'll report back on Sunday after I see the machine. It may be as simple as a bad keyboard. We'll see.

T520 4239-CTO
T61/p 6459-CTO (Gone but not forgotten)
A31/p XP Pro 1 gig memory
A30/p XP Pro 1 gig memory
TP600 Win 2K 288 mb memory
701C Win 98 Don't ask
ajkula66
Posts: 7,628
Kudos: 757
Solutions: 800
Registered: ‎11-23-2007
Location: USA

Re: T30 Power Switch does not start computer

You can power it on with one of your A3x keyboards...at least from what I seem to recall.

 

Good luck.

Cheers,

George




In daily use: R60F, R500F, T61, T410

Collecting dust: T60

Enjoying retirement: A31p, T42p,

Non-ThinkPads: Panasonic CF-31 & CF-52, HP 8760W




Starting Thursday, 08/14/2014 I'll be away from the forums until further notice. Please do NOT send private messages since I won't be able to read them. Thank you.
.
WWAN
mixz1
Posts: 390
Registered: ‎01-22-2008
Location: Cancun, Mexico
0

Re: T30 Power Switch does not start computer


ajkula66 wrote:

You can power it on with one of your A3x keyboards...at least from what I seem to recall.

 

Good luck.


Thanks! Great idea. I'll post results.

T520 4239-CTO
T61/p 6459-CTO (Gone but not forgotten)
A31/p XP Pro 1 gig memory
A30/p XP Pro 1 gig memory
TP600 Win 2K 288 mb memory
701C Win 98 Don't ask
WWAN
mixz1
Posts: 390
Registered: ‎01-22-2008
Location: Cancun, Mexico

Re: T30 Power Switch does not start computer


ajkula66 wrote:

You can power it on with one of your A3x keyboards...at least from what I seem to recall.

 

Good luck.


Thank you. I stuck an A31 keyboard on it and it powered up! Took a look at the original keyboard. Popped the bezel around the button stack and found the power button was missing the rubber dome that sits under the button. Cannibalized one from the A31 keyboard and stuck it in the T30 keyboard. Major PITA but a couple of minutes of fumbling got it done. Computer is working just fine.

 

I looked inside the chassis, but didn't find the old rubber piece. Chalk it up to the mysterious things that happen in transit. The owner swears the power button was functional before the mobo swap. Anyhow, thanks for the hint on the keyboard.

T520 4239-CTO
T61/p 6459-CTO (Gone but not forgotten)
A31/p XP Pro 1 gig memory
A30/p XP Pro 1 gig memory
TP600 Win 2K 288 mb memory
701C Win 98 Don't ask