Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Paper Tape
kwanq
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-07-2008
Location: Australia
0

T41 touchpad Help!!!!

i have just purchased this t41 via ebay, so i dont have the driver cd, i have updated everything from a fresh install via the auto updater, everything seems to be working fine cept for the touch pad, i have tried to installed all the driver, wizards and utlities for it, yet still the notebook isnt detecting the touchpad,it says the touchpad is disabled via bios, but when i go into the bio, under keyboard/mouse, there is only the trackpoint option, i cant see the touchpad option. im running the newest bios. also i tried to go into the thinkpad configuration but on the touchpad option, it is greyed out, everything else has color to it, cept for the touchpad which seems to greyed out/disable.
 
right now i cant only use the trackpoint, please someone help me in getting the touchpad to work thanks
Retired Moderator
tfflivemb2
Posts: 70
Registered: ‎11-22-2007
Location: Wisconsin
0

Re: T41 touchpad Help!!!!

Welcome aboard!
 
I would try using the Hardware Maintenance Manual to remove the keyboard and check to see if the connector for the touchpad is connected.  I noticed on an T30 that I was working on, that the connector kept coming loose.
T61,T42(x2)T41,T40(x2),R40,T30(x2),T23(x3),T21,T20,X20,A31,A21M,600/E/X(multiples of each),770X,i1400(x2),760XL,760ED(x2 w/base),380XD,755CD,750P,360P,365X,560X,701C/CS,730T,PS/Note
Paper Tape
kwanq
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-07-2008
Location: Australia
0

Re: T41 touchpad Help!!!!

so the chances are its a hardware issue? not a software issue since touch pad is not visable via bios?
Paper Tape
waldekg
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-25-2008
Location: Poland
0

Re: T41 touchpad Help!!!!

Hello Kwanq,

 

It seems  I have the same problem and have wasted few last days to fix it.

Few days ago my touchpad dissapreared, BIOS doesn't have touchpad configuration setup, DOS configuration utility the same...


What is wrong - is it hardware problem ?

 

Have you managed to solve this problem

 

Please help me - I am getting out of my mind ;-)

ajkula66
Posts: 7,628
Kudos: 757
Solutions: 800
Registered: ‎11-23-2007
Location: USA
0

Re: T41 touchpad Help!!!!

You should open up your machine and check whether the touchpad is connected to begin with.

 

Good luck.

Cheers,

George




In daily use: R60F, R500F, T61, T410

Collecting dust: T60

Enjoying retirement: A31p, T42p,

Non-ThinkPads: Panasonic CF-31 & CF-52, HP 8760W




Starting Thursday, 08/14/2014 I'll be away from the forums until further notice. Please do NOT send private messages since I won't be able to read them. Thank you.
.
Paper Tape
waldekg
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎12-25-2008
Location: Poland
0

Re: T41 touchpad Help!!!!

I will try do so :smileyhappy:

 

Thanks