Support in other languages: 
Reply
Punch Card
TravisBean
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎09-25-2008
Location: Florida
0

T61 Hard Drive

Can I install a second Hard drive in a T61 model??
erik
Posts: 5,013
Registered: ‎11-23-2007
Location: United States
0

Re: T61 Hard Drive

certainly.   you'll need the ultrabay slim SATA hard drive adapter.   it can be purchased here on lenovo.com.

 

 

this is the least untruthful answer i can give.Microsoft MVP

Punch Card
TravisBean
Posts: 20
Registered: ‎09-25-2008
Location: Florida
0

Re: T61 Hard Drive

[ Edited ]
So it looks like I'll have to pop out the dvdrw drive correct? And after I install the new drive it will just show itself as another drive in My Computer correct? I guess I can order a dirve from new egg or the like, and what type do I need to specify? A seagate 200 gb sounds "nice". My main reason for wanting a second drive is to use with a Digidesign Pro Tools System, where they recommend a second drive.
Message Edited by TravisBean on 10-21-2008 08:05 PM
ajkula66
Posts: 7,628
Kudos: 757
Solutions: 799
Registered: ‎11-23-2007
Location: USA
0

Re: T61 Hard Drive

All of your assumptions are correct. Make sure to check out www.zipzoomfly.com as well...

 

Happy shopping... 

Cheers,

George




In daily use: T43pSF, R60F, T61, X301

Collecting dust: T60, T61p, R500F

Enjoying retirement: A31p, T42p,

Non-ThinkPads: Panasonic CF-31 & CF-52, HP 8760W

I build FrankenPads....scary FrankenPads...

S = SATA-mod (on T43/p units only)
F = FrankenPad
L = LED-mod utilizing an UXGA AFFS LED screen




Starting Thursday, 08/14/2014 I'll be away from the forums until further notice. Please do NOT send private messages since I won't be able to read them. Thank you.
.
Paper Tape
pokanes
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎06-18-2010
Location: USA
0

Re: T61 Hard Drive

Unfortunately the link above to purchase an "ultrabay slim SATA hard drive adapter" now says the product is unavailable. Is it still possible to add a second hard drive to a T61 that was purchased in 2007? I want to install unix on the drive and boot from it, is that possible?