Support in other languages: 
Reply
Serial Port
xcln
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎06-02-2008
Location: NYC USA
0

Re: T61 and 8GB ram?

Hi can you confirm:

1- this is indeed for a  T61   (not T61p)

2- did you use PC-5300 CL5 ram units or something else? (the precise timing - something like 5-5-5-15 might help just in case to narrow choices

 

Thanks a lot for the previous (and forthcoming) info ;-)

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Asus LG5, Toshiba M3, HP nc4400, Thinkpad R50, T60, T61, T61p, X200 Tablet, T410, W500, T430s
Paper Tape
andrewtang
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-28-2011
Location: New Jersey
0

Re: T61 and 8GB ram?

Has anybody tried install two 8gig modules on a T16p bring it up to 16GB of ram?

 

Punch Card
texudo
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎04-05-2008
Location: Vietnam
0

Re: T61 and 8GB ram?

"Has anybody tried install two 8gig modules on a T16p bring it up to 16GB of ram?"

 

This looks like very crazy, if you have money to buy two 8GB DDR2s, i think you shoud buy a new laptop with Core i 7, and two 8GB DDR3, it's much more cheaper :smileyvery-happy:

lead_org
Posts: 20,894
Topics: 128
Kudos: 1,249
Solutions: 1,340
Registered: ‎12-19-2008
Location: Australia, Melbourne
0

Re: T61 and 8GB ram?

does 8 gigs SODIMM DDR2 ram module even exist?
Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
Serial Port
SaabScott
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎01-10-2011
Location: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
0

Re: T61 and 8GB ram?

I just upgraded to 8GB and it was hard enough finding a supplier for 2 x 4GB!

 

And by the way, the difference between 4GB & 8GB is nominal.

I have noticed some difference, but only because I am looking for it.

ThinkPad T61p (6459-CTO)
T7500, 4GB, 100GB 7200, 15.4", Windows 7 Ultimate 64
Former IBM/Lenovo Canada employee
Paper Tape
weatherguy
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-02-2009
Location: Placerville, CA 95667
0

Re: T61 and 8GB ram?

The T61,R61and, X61 are "Santa Rosa" models.  They will therefore read up to 8 Gb.  I run 6Gb in my base model T61-01U.

 

 As for cost of the 4 Gb sticks, yesterday I looked them up on Newegg (US) and they were $79.90 USD.  Good luck!

Paper Tape
weatherguy
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-02-2009
Location: Placerville, CA 95667
0

Re: T61 and 8GB ram?

No on the T60. Not Santa Rosa!
Paper Tape
weatherguy
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-02-2009
Location: Placerville, CA 95667
0

Re: T61 and 8GB ram?

As of yesterday the 4 GiG sticks were $79.90 USD on Newegg.
What's DOS?
ahhrealmonsters
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-14-2014
Location: CA
0

Re: T61 and 8GB ram?

I found two 4gb sticks used, they are 6400 ddr2.

Is this compatable with my T61?
ajkula66
Posts: 7,628
Kudos: 757
Solutions: 799
Registered: ‎11-23-2007
Location: USA
0

Re: T61 and 8GB ram?


ahhrealmonsters wrote:
I found two 4gb sticks used, they are 6400 ddr2.

Is this compatable with my T61?

Yes.

Cheers,

George




In daily use: T43pSF, R60F, T61, X301

Collecting dust: T60, T61p, R500F

Enjoying retirement: A31p, T42p,

Non-ThinkPads: Panasonic CF-31 & CF-52, HP 8760W

I build FrankenPads....scary FrankenPads...

S = SATA-mod (on T43/p units only)
F = FrankenPad
L = LED-mod utilizing an UXGA AFFS LED screen




Starting Thursday, 08/14/2014 I'll be away from the forums until further notice. Please do NOT send private messages since I won't be able to read them. Thank you.
.