Support in other languages: 
Reply
Serial Port
xcln
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎06-02-2008
Location: NYC USA
0

Re: T61 and 8GB ram?

Hi can you confirm:

1- this is indeed for a  T61   (not T61p)

2- did you use PC-5300 CL5 ram units or something else? (the precise timing - something like 5-5-5-15 might help just in case to narrow choices

 

Thanks a lot for the previous (and forthcoming) info ;-)

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Asus LG5, Toshiba M3, HP nc4400, Thinkpad R50, T60, T61, T61p, X200 Tablet, T410, W500, T430s
Paper Tape
andrewtang
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎04-28-2011
Location: New Jersey
0

Re: T61 and 8GB ram?

Has anybody tried install two 8gig modules on a T16p bring it up to 16GB of ram?

 

Punch Card
texudo
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎04-05-2008
Location: Vietnam
0

Re: T61 and 8GB ram?

"Has anybody tried install two 8gig modules on a T16p bring it up to 16GB of ram?"

 

This looks like very crazy, if you have money to buy two 8GB DDR2s, i think you shoud buy a new laptop with Core i 7, and two 8GB DDR3, it's much more cheaper :smileyvery-happy:

lead_org
Posts: 20,734
Topics: 128
Kudos: 1,232
Solutions: 1,317
Registered: ‎12-19-2008
Location: Australia, Melbourne
0

Re: T61 and 8GB ram?

does 8 gigs SODIMM DDR2 ram module even exist?
Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
Serial Port
SaabScott
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎01-10-2011
Location: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
0

Re: T61 and 8GB ram?

I just upgraded to 8GB and it was hard enough finding a supplier for 2 x 4GB!

 

And by the way, the difference between 4GB & 8GB is nominal.

I have noticed some difference, but only because I am looking for it.

ThinkPad T61p (6459-CTO)
T7500, 4GB, 100GB 7200, 15.4", Windows 7 Ultimate 64
Former IBM/Lenovo Canada employee
Paper Tape
weatherguy
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-02-2009
Location: Placerville, CA 95667
0

Re: T61 and 8GB ram?

The T61,R61and, X61 are "Santa Rosa" models.  They will therefore read up to 8 Gb.  I run 6Gb in my base model T61-01U.

 

 As for cost of the 4 Gb sticks, yesterday I looked them up on Newegg (US) and they were $79.90 USD.  Good luck!

Paper Tape
weatherguy
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-02-2009
Location: Placerville, CA 95667
0

Re: T61 and 8GB ram?

No on the T60. Not Santa Rosa!
Paper Tape
weatherguy
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-02-2009
Location: Placerville, CA 95667
0

Re: T61 and 8GB ram?

As of yesterday the 4 GiG sticks were $79.90 USD on Newegg.
What's DOS?
ahhrealmonsters
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-14-2014
Location: CA
0

Re: T61 and 8GB ram?

I found two 4gb sticks used, they are 6400 ddr2.

Is this compatable with my T61?
ajkula66
Posts: 7,600
Kudos: 750
Solutions: 792
Registered: ‎11-23-2007
Location: USA
0

Re: T61 and 8GB ram?


ahhrealmonsters wrote:
I found two 4gb sticks used, they are 6400 ddr2.

Is this compatable with my T61?

Yes.

Cheers,

George




In daily use: T43pSF, R60F, T61, X220T, X301

Collecting dust: T60, T60p, T61p, R500F

Rebuilding: A31p, T42p,

Non-ThinkPads: Panasonic CF-31 & CF-52, HP 8760W

I build FrankenPads....scary FrankenPads...

S = SATA-mod (on T43/p units only)
F = FrankenPad
L = LED-mod utilizing an UXGA AFFS LED screen


Please DO NOT PM me with requests for individual support, but post your questions and concerns in the appropriate section of the forum where other users can benefit from them as well. Thank you.
.