Support in other languages: 
Punch Card
shoe_120

Re: T61p beeps 1 long and 2 shorts with a blank screen when booting

Got my T61p back today. The repair report sheet says "Checked machine power on no display,checked system board failure,replaced system board and clean up the machine,test passed"  I checked the planar,it's the same FRU 42W7653.  I don't know whether it will fail again in the future.  The repaire result simply said it was the system board failure. So I have no idea whether the problem is caused by GPU failure or the planar failure.
Paper Tape
rheoled

My 1.5-year-old $1600 T61 died this week, apparently due to this issue (1 long  beep, 2 short beeps, won't start).  I had a pretty great experience with my T41, but I feel very disappointed with this product.  I am an IT professional who counts on this hardware to earn a living.  I'm hours into working around this, restoring to other systems from backups, etc, and I have a ways to go still.  I called Lenovo, my warranty is expired, they offer to send a box, fix it for ~$500-$600, and get it back to me in a week or two.   Incredible.  $100/month for this laptop, plus many hours of unplanned labor and delay.  Who's the best alternative:  Dell?  HP?

Fanfold Paper
milleryuan

How many people have this problem?

I have two T61 and one T60, they are NV 140M, The first two are in the warranty, so Lenovo changed motherboard free, but last one T61 is out of warranty, I have no decide to ask Lenovo fix it yet, I not sure  this problem will  happen again or not, do you guys have a solution?

Thanks

Miller

Paper Tape
gkulk

I have run into the same problem, my laptop is less than one month out of the warranty. I will try and follow some of the advice given above. A bigger problem I have is as follows -