Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Paper Tape
mrcrow_uk
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎12-12-2009
Location: manchester england
0

Upgrading T60

How can I upgrade my T60 to a larger hard drive please

I have seen and can change the hard drive.Seems simple

how do I get to find out what drive to buy concerning Max size speed and whether ide or sata?

And what then?

I am going to buy a XP pro sp3 as I don't have a copy myself..Just the recovery discs which were sent with one of the laptops.I have 2 T60's

hope to hear from someone..Please

Cheers

Geoff

Manchester UK

 

lead_org
Posts: 20,905
Topics: 128
Kudos: 1,253
Solutions: 1,344
Registered: ‎12-19-2008
Location: Australia, Melbourne

Re: Upgrading T60

1) the hdd on the machine is SATA, 9.5 mm, 2.5 in form factor, either 5400 rpm or 7200 rpm is okay.

2) if you got the recovery media, you can use it to install the recovery partition and OS/drivers on the machine.

3) instruction for removal and installation of hdd can be found here:

http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site.wss/MIGR-62733.html
Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
Paper Tape
mrcrow_uk
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎12-12-2009
Location: manchester england
0

Re: Upgrading T60

thanks for the pdf file on fitting the hdd

 

i have a 60Gb at present and really want to get the most out of a new hdd...can i go up to 120Gb

 

i was given with the machine 3 discs and i am buying XP pro SP3 software

 

do i load the recovery discs first to get the new hard drive ready for XP or is XP already on the three discs

 

you can imagine how i feel asking these questions from the position of a non it trained person but ask you make some allowance for this please

 

yours

geof..manchester uk

lead_org
Posts: 20,905
Topics: 128
Kudos: 1,253
Solutions: 1,344
Registered: ‎12-19-2008
Location: Australia, Melbourne
0

Re: Upgrading T60

i have a 500 gig hdd installed on my T60.

The recovery media that you got should reload the drivers and OS (the recovery media contains the OS already).

You should insert the start recovery disc first, then the prompt will guide you through the rest of the installation process.
Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
Punch Card
mdclow
Posts: 30
Registered: ‎01-29-2010
Location: West Bloomfield, Michigan
0

Re: Upgrading T60

If you think your OS is pretty clean and your primary reason is that you want to to double your HDD space (60GB to 120GB) then you should consider cloning the 60GB HDD to the 120GB HDD.  If you use the restore disks you will have to re-install all your software programs and data.  Cloning is a sector by sector exact copy of your old/small HDD. 

ThinkPad T530 2359-CTO i7-3520M (up to 3.60 GHz) 16GB RAM, 250GB Samsung 840 SSD, 15.6" 1600 x 900 LED, NVIDIA NVS 5400M Graphics with Optimus Technology

ThinkPad T60 8744-5BU
T7200(2GHz), 4GB RAM, 256GB Crucial C-300 SSD HD, 15.4in 1680x1050 LCD, 256MB ATI MOBILITY FireGL V5250, CDRW/DVDRW, Win7 Ultimate 32bit

Paper Tape
mrcrow_uk
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎12-12-2009
Location: manchester england
0

Re: Upgrading T60

thanks for the cloning idea....

it sounds a decent way to do it...since my os is ok so far and i dont want to lose any data...although i have an 80Gb caddy to save it on

 

what is the procedure for cloning...it sounds like the way to go

cheers

geof

manchester uk

Maliha
Posts: 3,224
Registered: ‎07-31-2008
Location: Pakistan
0

Re: Upgrading T60

 


mrcrow_uk wrote:

what is the procedure for cloning...it sounds like the way to go

cheers

geof

manchester uk


 

Hi Geof,


You can find very easy to follow instructions from the blog of our own moderator Andy:- http://www.andyp.me/blog1.php/2010/04/24/hard-drive-clonewars-klonkrieg-der-festplatten


Acronis is free for WD, and perhaps for some other brand of HDDs too (I suggest checking).

 

Hope this helps.

------------------------------------------------------------

Maliha (I don't work for lenovo)
ThinkPads:- T400[Win 7], T60[Win 7], IBM 240[Win XP]

IdeaPad: U350

Apple:- Macbook Air [Snow Leopard]
Did someone help you today? Compliment them with a
Kudos!
Was your question answered today? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
de.gif  Lenovo Deutsche Community   es.gif  Lenovo Comunidad en Español 
Visit my YouTube Channel