Support in other languages: 
Reply
Retired Employee
JameZ
Posts: 3,110
Registered: ‎07-11-2010
Location: Malaysia
0

Re: E420s switchable graphics with opengl

@windv,

Do you mean that if you use the ATi Rage patch then the Rage game works fine but if you use the Lenovo ATi driver then Rage can't start at all?

@Peter,

I am still pending for the team to upload them, will post the direct links once its up.


@needasolution,

Will check with engineering if they are deciding to provide a BIOS switch on this GPU however do note that the new drivers are now working properly as based on the response of the thread right?

//JameZ

Check out the Community Knowledge Base for hints and tips.


Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!

If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"!




W520 | 4176-38U | i7 - 2720QM | Quardo 1000M | 8GB RAM | 60GB OCZ Agility 3

Retired Employee
JameZ
Posts: 3,110
Registered: ‎07-11-2010
Location: Malaysia
0

Re: E420s switchable graphics with opengl

[ Edited ]

@All E320 users,

 

Ensure you have the latest BIOS for the E320 (1.13)

 

Driver below.

 

Driver here

 

Text here

 

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
CHANGES IN THIS RELEASE
  Versions 8.840.7.3  (Package: 8.84.7.3-110511a-124522C-Lenovo)
           - 8.840.7.3     (AMD Graphic Driver)
           - 8.15.10.2476  (Intel Graphic Driver)
           - 6.14.0.3074   (Intel HDMI Audio Driver)

[Important updates]
  Nothing.

[New functions or enhancements]
- Device driver functionality enhancement.

[Problem fixes]
  Nothing.


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Check out the Community Knowledge Base for hints and tips.


Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!

If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"!




W520 | 4176-38U | i7 - 2720QM | Quardo 1000M | 8GB RAM | 60GB OCZ Agility 3

Fanfold Paper
PeterSVK
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-21-2011
Location: Slovakia
0

Re: E420s switchable graphics with opengl

@JameZ Thanke you for the linke but the driver link is not working , could you please check it.

Punch Card
Benik3
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎10-22-2011
Location: Czech Republic
0

Re: E420s switchable graphics with opengl

Jamez:

Yes Rage with these drivers doesn´t work, because the drivers are OLD (v 11.4).

I realy don´t now, why engineering didn´t use 11.9 WHQL :smileysad:

Or this Monday 11.10 WHQL Catalyst will be release...

 

windv:

How did you check that overclocking works?

Token Ring
BMGRAHAM
Posts: 57
Registered: ‎04-23-2008
Location: Maryland
0

: E420s switchable graphics with opengl

[ Edited ]

I was thinking that the new BIOS didn't fix the smartphone boot issue as I am running 1.38 and it's still happening, then I realized I am not using the PC with issue - whoops.  Will try it later.  UPDATE - it fixed the problem!

Retired Employee
JameZ
Posts: 3,110
Registered: ‎07-11-2010
Location: Malaysia
0

Re: E420s switchable graphics with opengl

Sorry Peter... Link fixed

Check out the Community Knowledge Base for hints and tips.


Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!

If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"!




W520 | 4176-38U | i7 - 2720QM | Quardo 1000M | 8GB RAM | 60GB OCZ Agility 3

Punch Card
windv
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎03-31-2009
Location: България, Bulgaria
0

Re: E420s switchable graphics with opengl

@ Jamez:
To your question if Rage works fine with Ati Rage patch, but with lenovo ATi driver it wouldn't even start. YES, When i try to start it with lenovo driver, which works fine with programs that would otherwise not run at all, i just get the masege, "Rage has stopped working" With Lenovo dirvers i also can't get Fallout 3 to run properly. The menus are all black. 

 

 

@ Benik3

I did a simple test. I ran 3dmark06 without overclocking and got arround 8000score and after that, with overckloking the score reached arroun 10000. That i think proves it more or less. Appart from that, the freqs of the chip are shown in the Spahire TRIXX interface. 
Are you having problems determining if you are accomplishing something? 
Another thing is that at the moment i don't need to overclock the video. It is sufficient even for a bit more demanding games to play on medium or high sethings. 

t400s-w520-e420-t43p
Paper Tape
ramivei
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎08-27-2011
Location: israel
0

Re: E420s switchable graphics with opengl

[ Edited ]

hello,

 

I have an E520 with the switchable graphics. I did not read the whole discussion which is too long. can someone please tell me what to do in order that OPENGL applications would work using the strong AMD/ATI card.

I bought this laptop few weeks ago and did not update anything except windows update.

 

thanks

Ramivei

Punch Card
windv
Posts: 25
Registered: ‎03-31-2009
Location: България, Bulgaria
0

Re: E420s switchable graphics with opengl

ramivei

 

here is one explanation
and on the few pages after taht you can check what others have written

 

t400s-w520-e420-t43p
Punch Card
Benik3
Posts: 50
Registered: ‎10-22-2011
Location: Czech Republic

Re: E420s switchable graphics with opengl

So overclocking realy work :smileyhappy:

I tried it only quickly, but highest clocks which I get stable for now are 645/1065.

 

And for all who want to play Rage, try this driver file put into directory with game :smileyhappy:

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=RPEXA871