Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Paper Tape
what
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-05-2012
Location: France
0
Accepted Solution

E530 i3 380M upgrade processor

Hello everybody, I have a E530 E530 i3 380M I want to upgrad it, it is possible a i5 or a i7 ?

 

Thank you very much ;-)

 

What

lead_org
Posts: 20,905
Topics: 128
Kudos: 1,254
Solutions: 1,343
Registered: ‎12-19-2008
Location: Australia, Melbourne
0

Re: E530 i3 380M upgrade processor

Yes you can at least within the Ivy Bridge i5, i7. I havent tried to upgrade across to the Sandy Bridge i5, i7, even though some E530 were sold with Older Sandy Bridge CPU.
Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
Paper Tape
what
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-05-2012
Location: France
0

Re: E530 i3 380M upgrade processor

Hello, Thank you for your answer, what is better between a Ivy bridge and a Sandy Bridge ? I just want to use my TPedge for Traktor dj software & Maschine sequencer for Live mix in same time !

 

Merci ;-)

lead_org
Posts: 20,905
Topics: 128
Kudos: 1,254
Solutions: 1,343
Registered: ‎12-19-2008
Location: Australia, Melbourne
0

Re: E530 i3 380M upgrade processor

Ivy bridge would be faster then Sandy Bridge on the same frequency. But you may or may not see an noticeable improvement with the cpu upgrade. If you are upgrading then get the i7 and skip the i5.

Also is your CPU usage constantly hit 100% when you use the software?
Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
Paper Tape
what
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎08-05-2012
Location: France

Re: E530 i3 380M upgrade processor

Hello, I just have the same reflexion than you, beetween a i3 & i5 it's better to upgrade directly to the i7, I just mounting a SSD I need to test the new CPU usage in hard condition, before I does have occasionnaly CPU pic in software ( when loading a new track for exemple ) !

I'm very impressed to see that I can upgrade CPU on this laptop it's a big + for you ;-)

 

 

Paper Tape
BlaszerOC
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-15-2013
Location: USA
0

Re: E530 i3 380M upgrade processor

[ Edited ]

You won't be able to upgrade your 380M to an Ivy or Sandy Bridge processor because they have different sockets. (2nd and 3rd gen processors have the same socket). However you'll still be able to upgrade it to a i5 or i7 as long as its a first gen (with a G1 socket).

Punch Card
Targitai
Posts: 22
Registered: ‎01-15-2013
Location: Transnistria
0

Re: E530 i3 380M upgrade processor

(2nd and 3rd gen processors have the same socket)

 

Does it mean that I can upgrade Sandy Bridge to Ivy Bridge with the same TDP without any issue? I searched any info about that but without succes. My core i3-2310m have PPGA988 socket, but i7-3520M (for example) have FCPGA988. Does it can be upgraded?

 

Paper Tape
BlaszerOC
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎04-15-2013
Location: USA
0

Re: E530 i3 380M upgrade processor

[ Edited ]

I'm not entirely sure about that one but I would upgrade to a processor with the PPGA988 just to be on the safe side. CPU-World is a good place to learn about processors and their sockets. Sorry I couldn't help much. However there are some pretty decsent i5 processors with a PPGA socket.