07-19-2011 11:40 AM
When I got my Thinkpad E420. I saw that there was a recovery partition of 10GB approx. When I double clicked it, it gave me a popup to burn it to a DVD. As I was not having a Blank DVD at that point of time, I continued with my other stuff and created some partitions but havent touched the Q drive which has the recovery.
Now I have some questions based on the behavior I see on my laptop.
1. Now when I click the Q drive it doesnt give me the popup to write a dvd, just opens it up with no content inside. Though it does have content in it. So, can I still make a Recovery media out of that Partition or have I lost it.
2. I have created new partitions taking out the free space from C drive, will this affect the Restore if I try to do so in Future.
3. I read it somewhere on the web that you can burn the the recovery media just once. Is that true?
Let me know if someone has got an idea about this, will help as I am bit concerned now that I have lost the Recovery Partition.
07-19-2011 07:50 PM
07-20-2011 07:54 AM
Thanks for the reply.
1. somewhere around 8 Gigs of Data is present on that drive. But I dont see the files when the drive opens. I guess the content is hidden in a particular way so that end users dont see it.
2. Ya thats what I would need, to wipe off just C drive. This is ok.
3. So how should I write this to a DVD drive for the first time given that I dont get that prompt anymore and what would happen after I burn in on the DVD will the contents of the partition be wiped off.