Support in other languages: 
Reply
Ctrl-Alt-Del
mmkader85
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎01-13-2011
Location: Singapore
0

Thinkpad Edge 14 Keyboard Key Shift+r not working

Hi,

 

          Im having Thinkpad Edge 14 running in intel i3 and windows 7 professional (32-bit).. Im having a weird problem since i bought this..

 

          When i press Shift+r to put in a capital R in notepad / word / any other typing places it is not showing up immediately as like other keys.. i need to press and hold shift+r for around 3 secs for this to key in.. does anyone have problems of this kind and got it resolved..?

 

         any help please...

 

Thanks..

 

 



Ctrl-Alt-Del
mmkader85
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎01-13-2011
Location: Singapore
0

Re: Thinkpad Edge 14 Keyboard Key Shift+r not working

any help ?
topmahof
Posts: 3,083
Topics: 36
Kudos: 327
Solutions: 223
Registered: ‎01-21-2010
Location: Etters, PA
0

Re: Thinkpad Edge 14 Keyboard Key Shift+r not working

[ Edited ]

sounds like a bad keyboard to me.  you might want to give service a ring.  they might just send you a new keyboard.  does it do it with both shift keys?  

_______________________________________________________
T430u, x200T, 2-x61Ts, 2-x61s, 2-x60Ts, x32, x41T, x40, U160, ThinkPad Tablet 1838-22R, Z500 touch

Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"!
If someone helped you today, pay it forward. Help Someone Else!
Ctrl-Alt-Del
mmkader85
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎01-13-2011
Location: Singapore
0

Re: Thinkpad Edge 14 Keyboard Key Shift+r not working

thanks for your time topmahof.. im sure, its not keyboard fault.. bcoz, the key 'r' is working fine.. except that if i try keyin shift+r for capital letter, it is not getting typed faster.. i need to press and hold it for around 3-5 secs..

im using lappy in-built keyboard.. no external.. i suspect it is somehow related to any shortcut key..
topmahof
Posts: 3,083
Topics: 36
Kudos: 327
Solutions: 223
Registered: ‎01-21-2010
Location: Etters, PA
0

Re: Thinkpad Edge 14 Keyboard Key Shift+r not working

[ Edited ]

you wouldn't happen to have an external keyboard would you?  if it is related to a shortcut key or a software problem, then the problem should show up on an external keyboard coz the settings would be the same, i would think.   does it do it with either shift key? 

_______________________________________________________
T430u, x200T, 2-x61Ts, 2-x61s, 2-x60Ts, x32, x41T, x40, U160, ThinkPad Tablet 1838-22R, Z500 touch

Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"!
If someone helped you today, pay it forward. Help Someone Else!
topmahof
Posts: 3,083
Topics: 36
Kudos: 327
Solutions: 223
Registered: ‎01-21-2010
Location: Etters, PA
0

Re: Thinkpad Edge 14 Keyboard Key Shift+r not working

there is an interactive test in thinkvantage toolbox that you could test the keys with.

_______________________________________________________
T430u, x200T, 2-x61Ts, 2-x61s, 2-x60Ts, x32, x41T, x40, U160, ThinkPad Tablet 1838-22R, Z500 touch

Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"!
If someone helped you today, pay it forward. Help Someone Else!
Ctrl-Alt-Del
mmkader85
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎01-13-2011
Location: Singapore
0

Re: Thinkpad Edge 14 Keyboard Key Shift+r not working

Yes, it happens with both shift keys.. i will try the interactive test and keep you posted..
Ctrl-Alt-Del
mmkader85
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎01-13-2011
Location: Singapore
0

Re: Thinkpad Edge 14 Keyboard Key Shift+r not working

Interactive test success for all keys.. including both 'shift' and 'r' key.. if i hold shift and press 'r' in interactive test, it is showing R instantly.. but when it comes to outside the interactive test (notepad, web browser) problem with shift+r stills exists..