Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Punch Card
gal9000
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎05-21-2010
Location: BERLIN GERMANY
0
Accepted Solution

wlan ip configuration - missing option to set gateway and proxy...?

[ Edited ]

Hi!

I need to set the default gateway and proxy ip adresses after connecting to an access point with wpa2.

E.g. my htc incredible can do that just fine in setup behind wifi opions.

I think it whould be a great idea to put ip config for gateway, dns-server and proxy server to wlan config right after ssid-chosing to make the tablet remember it 4 the next connect...a little bit like access connection does it 4 me.

 

Could sb here please give me a hint how to solve my connection problem until then?

 

I really like the A1 ThinkPad Tablet after using it 4 about 10days now..as 4 me I can fully recommend the purchase and upgrade it to my favourite gadget....:-)

 

 

 (mod edit: changed title of post to match thread since the question is about the thinkpad tablet rather than the ideapad A1 tablet)

Punch Card
gal9000
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎05-21-2010
Location: BERLIN GERMANY
0

Betreff: A1 wlan ip configuration - missing option to set gateway and proxy...?

Problem still Not solved...

A1 is not able to set gateway , dns-server and proxy after connecting to wlan.

2 tested apps from market dealing withbthis dont work either..

 

WLAN configuration of A1 needs urgent update for business networkers!

 

cheers

   GAL9000

 

 

Token Ring
tinybeetle
Posts: 190
Registered: ‎11-11-2011
Location: Largo, FL
0

Betreff: A1 wlan ip configuration - missing option to set gateway and proxy...?

When you are in WiFi settings, tap the option button (the lighted button on the bottom left of the bezel). This will allow you to bring up the "advanced screen". You can set IP info there under "IP Setting".

Punch Card
gal9000
Posts: 12
Registered: ‎05-21-2010
Location: BERLIN GERMANY
0

Betreff: A1 wlan ip configuration - missing option to set gateway and proxy...?

No such thing here...maybe U have another tablet in mind?

 

I am talking about

 

thinkpad tablet

android 3.1

build_version A310_02_0037_0076_WE

model 18382DG

 

greetings from berlin to FL

               GAL9000

 

Token Ring
daveelt
Posts: 152
Registered: ‎08-26-2011
Location: United States
0

Betreff: A1 wlan ip configuration - missing option to set gateway and proxy...?

When you are in WIFI settings screen (with the list of available networks) is there a little menu button (4 lines on) in the top right corner of your screen?

If so, touch it and select advanced from there
Token Ring
Thjalfi
Posts: 58
Registered: ‎09-21-2011
Location: Germany
0

Betreff: A1 wlan ip configuration - missing option to set gateway and proxy...?

I am having the same problem as the thread starter.

 

If you go to "advanced" from the options menu, you see three menu options:

 

1. "Wireless Enhanced Settings"

2. "MAC Address" (which is greyed out an can't be changed)

3. "IP Address" (same as 2.)

 

If you go to "Wireless Enhanced Settings", you get to a menu with several options for turning off wifi after a certain time while the display is off, turn on/off wifi on a time schedule and to never turn off wifi when connected to a certain SSID.

 

Where exactly should be the option to manually set things like IP, DNS, Gateway, Subnet mask, etc.?

__________________________________

When someone is helpful to you, thank them by giving them a kudo. 18382BG ThinkPadTablet_A400_03_0070_0132_WE
Token Ring
daveelt
Posts: 152
Registered: ‎08-26-2011
Location: United States
0

Betreff: A1 wlan ip configuration - missing option to set gateway and proxy...?

I think you have stumbled on to something here.

The option to do this was in advanced prior to the update, it is not there now.

Lenovo Staff
bsnf
Posts: 249
Registered: ‎09-02-2008
Location: USA

Betreff: A1 wlan ip configuration - missing option to set gateway and proxy...?

Under settings go to Wireless and networks

under Wi-Fi networks

Press and hold the connection you want to modify

Slect "modify network"

Scroll down through the profile

Change Proxy settings from automatic to manual

enter your settings

 

In this location you can also change your IP address from DHCP to static

Token Ring
daveelt
Posts: 152
Registered: ‎08-26-2011
Location: United States
0

Betreff: A1 wlan ip configuration - missing option to set gateway and proxy...?

Thanks bsnf.....good to know where it went :smileyhappy:
Token Ring
Thjalfi
Posts: 58
Registered: ‎09-21-2011
Location: Germany
0

Betreff: A1 wlan ip configuration - missing option to set gateway and proxy...?

Well, obviously I have tried long-pressing the wifi networks before, because I have been looking for these options for some time and I have a slight idea how Android menus work in general.

 

Usually if something can be activated with a long press, that happens after 1-3 seconds. I have been long pressing the wifi network I want to modify for a good minute or so, but nothing happened. How long should I press, or where exactly? 

__________________________________

When someone is helpful to you, thank them by giving them a kudo. 18382BG ThinkPadTablet_A400_03_0070_0132_WE