Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Blue Screen Again
mikelaverick
Accepted Solution

IMM "Shared Mode" on a new TS200

Hi there.

I'm new to lenovo hardware - so please be gentle...

I've  a new levovo thinkserver ts200 tower, one of the features I want to use is the IMM. I naively assumed this would be a dedicate nic on the motherboard as you would find with a HP Proliant...

It looks from the BIOS settings that some kind "shared" mode allows one of the ordinary nics on the motherboard to be the IMM. Is that right or am I barking up the wrong tree? I've tried using DHCP and static address but the IP isn't pingable. Why is that?

I've got on order a virtual media key (there appears to be a wait time for it). I assumed this would merely be a serial number that I would type in to enable the advanced functionality. It now looks like that this key is some kind of physical device that you plug into the motherboard - is that right?

So about the newbie questions - but I wasn't expect the tower to work with this...

Regards

Mike

Blue Screen Again
mikelaverick

Re: IMM "Shared Mode" on a new TS200

Any theories?

Just replying to my own thread to keep up at the top of the list in the vain hope someone will see this!!! :-)

It's a very quiet community this isn't it?

Regards

Mike

Community SuperMod
bananaman

[ Edited ]

Hi mikelaverick, and welcome to the Lenovo User Community!

Sorry it's so quiet here at the moment! I don't use IMM, but maybe this will help (note the TS came after the TD's - I think it is applicable)?

http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site.wss/document.do?lndocid=MIGR-73133

I don't work for Lenovo. I'm a crazy volunteer!
Blue Screen Again
mikelaverick

Hey, ther BananaMan!

Nice to know I'm not the only one in the Levovo community! :-)

Let me intro myself. My name is Mike Laverick and I run the www.rtfm-ed.co.uk site. I'm really into virtualization, and I've written a couple of books on the subject.