Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Blue Screen Again
NVRSAT_1
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-23-2008
Location: San Francisco
0

D10 Has Arrrived!

[ Edited ]

D10 arrived last night! WOW what build quality! Lenovo has hit a homerun with this workstation! A Clean install with Vista Ultimate 32bit/64bit -no problem at all. XP 32bit  is a battle though; tech support didn't help at all. I need the Intel Raid driver for the F6 install, BSOD every time. Even with not creating a LSI or Intel Raid during startup DIDN'T fix the problem.

Couple things to note from my first impressions:Cons

 

Proprietary Power Cord, SATA cables are Very hard to move, Very loud Fan noise during startup, poor tech support (maybe it's to new?).

I've posted some pics from the BIOS and D10 case.

http://www.flickr.com/photos/nvrsat/sets/72157606114271573/

-I've canceled my second workstation (Almost same specs) due to Lenovo's lack of customer support to purchase additional parts for my D10. I tryed to order a 9 in 1 card reader to replace the floppy, after being passed around from rep to rep not knowing how or who should handle the request and not being able to change the order without it being delayed further from shipmant D10 canceled.

*Word of advice you better order exactly what you need up front or be disappointed. 

 

Updated D10 picture link and specs. 7/18/08

Message Last Edited by NVRSAT_1 on 04-23-2008 09:10 AM

Moderator Note; converted to clickable link


Message Edited by NVRSAT_1 on 07-18-2008 10:26 AM
D10 6493-CTO 2x X5450 · 16GB RAM
365GB LSI SAS RAID-0 · Intel 1TB RAID-0
VISTA64 Ultimate · BIOS 2XKT18A
community supermod
erik
Posts: 5,038
Registered: ‎11-23-2007
Location: United States
0

Re: D10 Has Arrrived!

the "proprietary" power cord is actually standard on servers.   the D10 chassis is slightly smaller than a 6U server so that it can be mounted on rails and then in a rack.   using a server power cord makes it much easier for server farms. :smileywink:

how is the overall noise of the D10?   is it as quiet as a desktop as claimed?

how is the RAID configuration?   is it possible to run a single working drive plus two or three other drives in a RAID array?

ThinkStation C20Microsoft MVP
ThinkPad X1C · X220 ULV · X60T SXGA+ · s30 · 600

Blue Screen Again
NVRSAT_1
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎04-23-2008
Location: San Francisco
0

Re: D10 Has Arrived!

D10 is whisper quiet once it's done with the POST. D10 has 2 RAID controllers (LSI & Intel,) so 2 seperate RAIDs are possible,  Under Vista 64, I did build a 2 drive LSI raid and 2 drive Intel RAID which worked fine. With 10 total SATA /SAS ports you can hook 5 HDD, 3 Burners and have 2 ports for external SATA/SAS connectors out the back.
D10 6493-CTO 2x X5450 · 16GB RAM
365GB LSI SAS RAID-0 · Intel 1TB RAID-0
VISTA64 Ultimate · BIOS 2XKT18A
community supermod
erik
Posts: 5,038
Registered: ‎11-23-2007
Location: United States
0

Re: D10 Has Arrived!

[ Edited ]
excellent!   i had canceled my D10 order as i might be moving soon but this makes me want one sooner than later. :smileywink:

what are the specs on your machine?   edit:  nevermind, i just saw your D10 specs in your signature.


Message Edited by erik on 04-24-2008 02:57 AM

ThinkStation C20Microsoft MVP
ThinkPad X1C · X220 ULV · X60T SXGA+ · s30 · 600

Paper Tape
dpach
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-08-2008
Location: Arizona
0

Re: D10 Has Arrrived!

I posted here the correct Raid card drivers for the F6 install....hope this helps....