Support in other languages: 
SCSI Port
BoHick
Accepted Solution

S10 Hard drive - maximum size?

[ Edited ]

This is my first time using the Lenovo forums and although this response is for the S-20 I have a follow on question but for the S-10. My apologies if this is an inappropriate place to post/reply but searching the posts this seemed as close to my situation as possible without starting a new thread.

I'm currently configured with the W7 Pro OS on it's own hard drive, and have the other bays populated with a pair of WD Caviar Green WD10EARS 1TB hard drives setup RAID-1. I'd like to bump this up to the Caviar Black; however, before I drop any money on drives (returns are very difficult here in Viet Nam) I want to make sure of two things:

1] can the S-10 handle the 6 gb/s drives or should I stick with 3 gb/s?

2] can the S-10 handle a pair of 2 TB drives configured RAID-1?

Many thanks in advance for any assistance on this point. I live in Viet Nam and getting info out of the folks from Lenovo here can be somewhat problematic. ;-)

(mod note: split question into new discussion and updated title of post to match)

S10 - 642327A
lead_org
Topics: 128
Kudos: 1,236
Solutions: 1,329

Re: S20 Hard drive - maximum size?

1) S10 can use the 6 gb/s drive, but they will only run at the 3 gb/s.

2) yes it can.
Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
SCSI Port
BoHick

Many thx - and one more query: is the 3 gb/s limitation owing to the CPU or the motherboard? Or perhaps with the fact my machine's four years old? ;-)

S10 - 642327A
erik

BoHick - welcome to the forum!

honestly, 6Gbps doesn't matter.   the 2TB WD caviar black has a maximum sustained transfer rate of only 133 MBps per their datasheet.   that isn't even enough to fully saturate 1.5 Gbps let alone 3Gbps or 6Gbps.   your current WD10EARX has 110 MBps max sustained transfer (datasheet) which really isn't bad for a mechanical hard drive.