Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Blue Screen Again
zsirmo
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-01-2010
Location: Hungary
0
Accepted Solution

ThinkStation D10 BIOS problem

Hy,

 

I have a problem with D10 bios. I install D10 in ServerRAID 6M controller, and dont work :smileysad:

See the screeshot BIOS error

 

All bios and firmware up to date. (D10 and ServeRAID controller)

 

Any idea?

 

Best regards Zsirmo

community supermod
erik
Posts: 5,028
Registered: ‎11-23-2007
Location: United States
0

Re: ThinkStation D10 BIOS problem

welcome to the forum!

 

try this:  shut down, remove the 6M card, boot, enter the BIOS, disable the on-board LSI RAID controller, and set the Intel controller in AHCI mode.   shut the system down, reinstall the card, and boot the system.

 

if that doesn't work then i'm not sure what else to suggest.   the ServeRAID 6M is an old card and may not be compatible with the D10.

ThinkStation C20Microsoft MVP
ThinkPad X1C · X220 · X60T · s30

Blue Screen Again
zsirmo
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-01-2010
Location: Hungary
0

Re: ThinkStation D10 BIOS problem

i have tried :smileysad:

community supermod
erik
Posts: 5,028
Registered: ‎11-23-2007
Location: United States
0

Re: ThinkStation D10 BIOS problem

unfortunately the card might be incompatible.   if we think of any alternatives, we'll let you know.

 

are you absolutely set on using U320 drives or can you migrate your array(s) to SAS drives instead?

ThinkStation C20Microsoft MVP
ThinkPad X1C · X220 · X60T · s30

psuturtle
Posts: 849
Topics: 9
Kudos: 150
Solutions: 101
Registered: ‎02-22-2010
Location: NC
0

Re: ThinkStation D10 BIOS problem

I'm pretty sure the screenshot you posted indicated that you've run out of ROM space when you added the new card.  D10 BIOS didn't have a lot of "room" in that area as I recall.  If the card you're installing requires a large amount of ROM space in BIOS, you can run into problems like this.

 

What you can try to do to get around this is to turn off some options that you might not need.  Not using both LAN ports??  Then disable the one you're not using (In BIOS).  Turn off PXE boot if you can (also in BIOS).  This might free up enough space to allow you to boot normally with the card installed.

community supermod
erik
Posts: 5,028
Registered: ‎11-23-2007
Location: United States
0

Re: ThinkStation D10 BIOS problem

on a side note, you may want to update your BIOS.   judging by the copyright date shown in the screenshot, you're running an old version.

 

it can be downloaded here:

http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site.wss/document.do?lndocid=MIGR-69701

ThinkStation C20Microsoft MVP
ThinkPad X1C · X220 · X60T · s30

Blue Screen Again
zsirmo
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-01-2010
Location: Hungary
0

Re: ThinkStation D10 BIOS problem

I disable PXE boot, SATA and SAS controller, but don't work :smileysad:

Blue Screen Again
zsirmo
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-01-2010
Location: Hungary
0

Re: ThinkStation D10 BIOS problem

I upgarde mainboard bios, look new screenshot.

 

But boot block version is old :smileysad: why?

 

psuturtle
Posts: 849
Topics: 9
Kudos: 150
Solutions: 101
Registered: ‎02-22-2010
Location: NC
0

Re: ThinkStation D10 BIOS problem

Not sure what you're using to flash with (USB key or CD image), but if you run "flash2 /mb" when flashing the system, this should update the boot block revision to match the overall BIOS version.

Blue Screen Again
zsirmo
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎06-01-2010
Location: Hungary
0

Re: ThinkStation D10 BIOS problem

BIOS upgrade(boot block & BIOS) successfuly, but controller BIOS still don't work :smileysad: