Is it possible to undo factory recovery option for Rescue and Recovery on the X61?
I have a Lenovo X61 notebook. My harddisk was divided into two partitions: OS and data. Recently, I found that my Windows was no longer able to start. I managed to reinstall Windows 7 in the OS partition. All my files in the second partition were preserved. My laptop was working fine then. I realized subsequently that the Lenovo drivers were no longer there.
I then ran Rescue and Recovery on my system, thinking that it would simply reinstall the missing drivers.
However, this resulted in the deletion of Windows 7, which I had just installed, and the process also affected the partitions and erased the data in the second partition.
Is there any way I can restore the partition configuration and all the data I had?
Unfortunately, no. Using the Rescue and Recovery CD or DVD media, or running from the hidden system partition and selecting restore to factory default option, rebuilds the C: partition to the factory condition and the original OS. All user data and any OS version updates will be lost.
This is an irreversible process since data is overwritten.