Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Fanfold Paper
dvanaman
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎10-23-2009
Location: Reno, NV

Lenovo ThinkVantage Toolbox (diagnostics)

[ Edited ]

Something new on the Think line is Lenovo ThinkVantage Toolbox, which replaces and expands the capabilities of the Lenovo System Toolbox. It's a free application that runs under Win 7 today from PC-Doctor, which has been providing diagnostics and system health tools on Think products since '97.

 

Here's a link to a little flash video that gives an overview. The PC-Doctor engineering team would love to hear your thoughts.

 

http://www.pc-doctor.com/ltt_introduction.php

 

 

 

JRM
Fanfold Paper
JRM
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎07-18-2009
Location: Birmingham, AL
0

Lenovo System Toolbox locks out domain account

[ Edited ]

Every time I launch and run the Lenovo System Toolbox, it locks out (disables) my domain account.  I like the tool, but need a solution to this problem.  I found several hits on Google about the issue, but no solution.  Any suggestions?

 

Follow is my system info:

 

Vista Business SP2

ThinkPad T500

Latest Windows updates and Lenovo updates

Message Edited by JRM on 07-18-2009 10:32 PM
SCSI Port
finalfenix
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎10-12-2009
Location: New York, NY
0

Re: Lenovo ThinkVantage Toolbox (diagnostics)

The video suggests that it may also replace the Productivity Center, but does it actually?

 

Also, is there a link to this new TV Toolbox?

_________________________
ThinkPad Tablet 1838CTO
X61 Tablet 7764CTO Win7 x64
X40 23866GU WinVista x32
azh
Punch Card
azh
Posts: 29
Registered: ‎09-19-2009
Location: Vancouver
0

Re: Lenovo ThinkVantage Toolbox (diagnostics)

[ Edited ]

It is an impressive piece of software.

From what I saw fromthe flash video, it integrated well with Norton AV. So in a sense, it acts like, in Windows, its own Action Center.

 

Unless it totally replaces the current Lenovo Care application, I don't see many using it.

Fanfold Paper
dvanaman
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎10-23-2009
Location: Reno, NV
0

Re: Lenovo ThinkVantage Toolbox (diagnostics)

Hello Finalfenix,

 

In a sense, the productivity center is encapsulated within LTT -- you will be able to launch them from one location, as you did in the productivity center.

 

I haven't seen the link yet. It's currently in the Win7 preload. I'll see what I can find out!

 

Doug

SCSI Port
finalfenix
Posts: 46
Registered: ‎10-12-2009
Location: New York, NY
0

Re: Lenovo ThinkVantage Toolbox (diagnostics)

Courtesy of bobbyz, here are links to the ThinkVantage Toolbox:

http://www.lenovo.com/support/site.wss/document.do?lndocid=MIGR-73783 (Win7 32-bit)
http://www.lenovo.com/support/site.wss/document.do?lndocid=MIGR-73784 (Win7 64-bit)

_________________________
ThinkPad Tablet 1838CTO
X61 Tablet 7764CTO Win7 x64
X40 23866GU WinVista x32
Paper Tape
dynes
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎11-06-2009
Location: dynes@hvc.rr.com
0

Re: Lenovo ThinkVantage Toolbox (diagnostics)

Am I the only one getting "The contents of the file cannot be unpacked.  The executable you are attempting to run has been corrupted. ..."   This is for the 32 bit Windows 7 version:  lttsetup_538731x86.exe

Punch Card
DRJT400
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎10-31-2009
Location: Phoenix, AZ
0

Re: Lenovo ThinkVantage Toolbox (diagnostics)

[ Edited ]

Loaded it and used it.  It feels like a lot of advertisement at first, but there's some usability there.  I'm a fan of the Productivity Center because it's got such a minimal interface--this feels a great deal more involved (not a positive).  

 

I'm likely to use this a lot less than the Productivity Center; I've removed it from my taskbar because it's always giving me warnings--no backup plan (I use a Maxtor external HDD); no screensaver password (I don't want one); etc...

 

I'm also not a fan of the distance between loading this and updating my system--in the productivity center, this was button, mouse-over, click.  In this, it's button, click, click, click, click.  

 

I'm going to look for a way to reset the blue button to use the old productivity center until this becomes as useful, minimal, and non-attention-demanding as that is.

 

Nothin' personal.  I'm just sayin'...

DRJT400

T400, 2.4 GHz P8600, 2G RAM, Win7 (32 bit)
Fanfold Paper
arabenda
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎04-01-2009
Location: Chicago, IL
0

Re: Lenovo System Toolbox locks out domain account

We are experiencing the same issue in our environment.

 

Custom Image - T400 / X200 / M58p

XP SP3 patched.

Lenovo System Tool Box version 5.1.5183.17

 

I have placed a call to Lenovo support and escalated the call to ThinkVantage engineers two months ago without an answer to this problem.

Anthony Rabenda
Paper Tape
changelives
Posts: 5
Registered: ‎09-28-2008
Location: USA
0

Re: Lenovo ThinkVantage Toolbox (diagnostics)

two questions (using it with Vista):

 

1 - is there a way to get rid of the annoying box on my bottom bar (I keep getting a big red exclamation point because I am not backed up - which I want to do with an outside hard drive, but it wont let me)

 

2 - Is there a way to get it to allow me to use the backup for an outside/network hard drive?