Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
What's DOS?
Harry_K
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-28-2009
Location: Netherlands
0

On Screen Display Message Generator.

[ Edited ]

I've updated my machine (a T61) through the automatic update manager.

Since yesterday morning when I start my machine, during the start up I get a message saying:

On screen display message generator for thinkpad has stopped working. A problem ... etc., Please close the program.

 

What happened, and how to correct?

Message Edited by Harry_K on 01-28-2009 02:31 PM
What's DOS?
danielehren
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎01-31-2009
Location: Brooklyn, NY USA
0

Re: On Screen Display Message Generator.

I'm having the same problem... also following updates. Any ideas?
Paper Tape
Omin_K
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-01-2009
Location: Incheon, Korea (South)
0

Re: On Screen Display Message Generator.

[ Edited ]

I have a X61, faced same problem after system update.

As well, "On Screen Display" is not working.

Any ideas on how I can fix this problem?

Message Edited by Omin_K on 02-01-2009 12:52 AM
Agotthelf
Posts: 3,804
Topics: 145
Kudos: 262
Solutions: 183
Registered: ‎01-05-2008
Location: Münster, Germany GMT +1
0

Re: On Screen Display Message Generator.

Hello,

 

there seem to be a problem with hotkey driver. The size of your osd is 0.

 

Please run regedit, go into your registry and delete


HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\IBM\TPHOTKEY\OnScreenDisplay\Size

 

Then restart.

 

if you want to go back to your old osd driver than try to go into:

 

C:\DRIVERS\WIN\HOTKEY\OSD

and run "tponscr.exe" and "tposdsvc.exe" once. Then restart.

 

If your don´t have this folder, than you can get an older version here.

_________________________________________________________
Follow
@LenovoForums on Twitter!
Try the forum search, before first posting: Forum Search Option
Please insert your type, model (not S/N) number and used OS in your posts.
I´m a volunteer here using New X1 Carbon, ThinkPad Yoga, Yoga 11s, Yoga 13, T430s,T510, X220t, IdeaCentre B540.
TIP: If your computer runs satisfactorily now, it may not be necessary to update the system.

English English Community      Deutsche Deutsche Community      Español Comunidad en Español

Paper Tape
Omin_K
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-01-2009
Location: Incheon, Korea (South)

Re: On Screen Display Message Generator.

It has come to a settlement through Windows update.

My OS is Windows Vista Business, and a moment ago I ran Windows Update.

I don't know, actually what makes it fix.

WWAN
mixz1
Posts: 390
Registered: ‎01-22-2008
Location: Cancun, Mexico
0

Re: On Screen Display Message Generator.

As has been documented elsewhere in this forum, the OSD bug can rear its ugly head after an update or when you try to modify its settings via the Advanced Display settings. If you are comfortable editing the registry, first go to the Advanced display settings and UN-check everything about the OSD. Close the display settings and then look at the following keys in the registry. If you modify them to reflect the values here, your OSD should work with a dark blue color. Failing Tahoma, you can use Arial.

 

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\IBM\TPHOTKEY\OnScreenDisplay]


"FadeoutTime"=dword:000003e8
"Color"=dword:00ff0000
"CustomColors"=hex:00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00,00
"Size"=hex:14,1e,28,14
"Font"="Tahoma"
"Enable"=dword:00000001

T520 4239-CTO
T61/p 6459-CTO (Gone but not forgotten)
A31/p XP Pro 1 gig memory
A30/p XP Pro 1 gig memory
TP600 Win 2K 288 mb memory
701C Win 98 Don't ask
What's DOS?
zoundsx
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎02-15-2009
Location: NC

Re: On Screen Display Message Generator.

I had the same problem on my x61s, as well as the brightness meter (or volume) not showing up on screen. 

 

After several cycles of updates I was sent service pack 1 for Vistas. After installation both glitches disappeared. 

 

Just thought I'd mention it, as removing the item from the registry as posted above didn't work for me, nor did another solution to the brightness meter glitch posted elsewhere on this forum. The glitches eventually were fixed with SP1. I then had to go to the Lenovo site to get the deleted item back.

 

Hope that this helps anyone else with the same problem. 

Paper Tape
jeffchaplin
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-19-2009
Location: Toronto Ontario
0

Re: On Screen Display Message Generator.

[ Edited ]

Thanks zoundsx... I have the same problem but I am still not sure what to do.  You say "After several cycles of updates I was sent service pack 1 for Vista".  Every time I start System Update I just get the same old set of offerings (e.g. Modem update) that are no use to me.  So how did you get SP1?

 

The last time I spoke to someone at Lenovo they said I should not use Windows update, only the Lenovo System Update tool.  However, I'm not impressed; once before something didn't work after using this (I remember now, it was the blue button) so what do these guys think they're doing?

 

If I keep on starting System Update will I be 'sent' SP1 for Vista, or should I try and get it from Microsoft directly?

 

As I said, I'm not impressed; it appears that Lenovo, once they've taken your money don't care...they expect users to solve each other's problems for free (on this forum, thanks very much) rather than providing any useful support themselves.  Very unlikely that I'll buy one of these (T61) or its successor ever again.

Message Edited by jeffchaplin on 02-19-2009 08:38 PM
Paper Tape
jeffchaplin
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎02-19-2009
Location: Toronto Ontario

Re: On Screen Display Message Generator.

[ Edited ]

OK, so now I have SP1 and the problem is no more.

 

Funny, why would someone at Lenovo tell me not to use Windows Update - that Thinkvantage system update took care of everything?

 

So there you have it folks.  Turn on your Windows Update to 'Notify' or whatever you want and get SP1.  

 

Really Lenovo, what's the point?  I even tried your 'Get help from a Lenovo expert' link and it didn't connect to anything, and YES my internet connection was fine - no problem with any other site.

 

Thanks Lenovo.  NOT.

Message Edited by jeffchaplin on 02-21-2009 01:12 PM
What's DOS?
cfry
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎12-22-2008
Location: Denver

Re: On Screen Display Message Generator.

[ Edited ]

After spending a decent amount of my lunch break attempting to edit the registry entires as suggested by mixz1, I took another approach.  I am fortunate that I had a another Lenovo machine nearby with a working on screen display, so I checked the corresponding registry entries on that machine in the location:

 

[HKEY_CURRENT_USER\Software\IBM\TPHOTKEY\OnScreenDisplay]. 

 

The only thing there was Default with No Value Set.  Having seen this, I deleted everything else out of this location on my machine, rebooted, and success!  

 

I am going to try adding the color entry from mixz1 post and see if I can customize the color that way.

 

Good Luck!

 

 

T400 2767

Vista Business x64

Message Edited by cfry on 03-12-2009 07:24 AM