Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Lenovo Staff
parkerjnc
Posts: 567
Registered: ‎01-16-2010
Location: USA
0

Re: System update not working X220

The value for ThinkPads should be THINK

 

If you set the value and TVSU starts working then that's great.  However, I'm still trying to figure out why the tool that TVSU uses is not able to determine it is THINK.  Especially if it worked previously and only recently stopped working.  That would make me wonder if there is any kind of antivirus or malware app that is suddenly not allowing the detection routine to run.

 

Fanfold Paper
eli3000
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎08-30-2011
Location: Europe
0

Re: System update not working X220

hi i can't even find that vendor key in the regedit. i got windows7 64bit on my x220tablet, intel i5 cpu. lenovo system updater never worked for me. has anyone a solution for this problem? how exactly is the solution with the key done (is it a, key, dword etc.)?

best regards

Punch Card
nicbex
Posts: 41
Registered: ‎06-28-2011
Location: Sweden
0

Re: System update not working X220

[ Edited ]

Well, I don't know how to create the correct registry entry so I can't even try. I don't use any antivirus-program (besides Windows Defender) and I'm more or less 100 % certain that this computer is virus free, so that is highly unlikely the cause of the problem.

Guru
Mornsgrans
Posts: 2,474
Registered: ‎03-19-2009
Location: Idar-Oberstein, Germany
0

Re: System update not working X220

Did you try to import the

C:\Program Files (x86)\Lenovo\System Update\default\default.reg

with administrator - privilegs?

--------------------------------
My home-forum: http://www.thinkpad-forum.de
Wiki: Deutsches ThinkPad-Wiki English ThinkWiki
My ThinkPad-Collection
Fanfold Paper
eli3000
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎08-30-2011
Location: Europe
0

Re: System update not working X220

Hi, i imported it , but still system update stops at a certain point (at 15% while seraching Lenovo Help Center) :smileysad:

Paper Tape
Herbo
Posts: 9
Registered: ‎09-02-2011
Location: Hertfordshire
0

Re: System update not working X220

[ Edited ]

Parkerjnc:

TVSU has never worked for me on this new T420 Laptop, it's not a case that it suddenly stopped.

 

Yes, I set the value of the Vendo String to LENOVO to get it working, I will also change to THINK now I know that's the correct value.

 

Is this part of the Hello client that's not identifying the hardware correctly ?

 

Here are all the values I have under HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Lenovo\System Update key (excluding branches). This can be imported as a .reg file if you like.

 

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Lenovo\System Update]
"HelloClientLevel"="HelloLevel/8.07.00"
"BuildDate"="2011-7-25"
"DefaultLanguage"="EN"
"InstallationDir"="C:\\Program Files\\Lenovo\\System Update\\"
"LanguageOverride"=""
"LastLaunchedArgs"=""
"Version"="4.01.0015"
"Vendor"="THINK"
"NumberOfCriticalPending"="0"
"LastNumberOfUpdatesInstalled"="0"
"LastCheckForUpdatesDateTime"="2011-09-21 11:35:07"

 

Paul.

Guru
Mornsgrans
Posts: 2,474
Registered: ‎03-19-2009
Location: Idar-Oberstein, Germany
0

Re: System update not working X220


Herbo schrieb:
...

"InstallationDir"="C:\\Program Files\\Lenovo\\System Update\\"

...


Depending on the version:

Afaik it is in 64 bit - Windows "C:\\Program Files (x86)\\Lenovo\\System Update\\"

--------------------------------
My home-forum: http://www.thinkpad-forum.de
Wiki: Deutsches ThinkPad-Wiki English ThinkWiki
My ThinkPad-Collection
Lenovo Staff
parkerjnc
Posts: 567
Registered: ‎01-16-2010
Location: USA
0

Re: System update not working X220


eli3000 wrote:

hi i can't even find that vendor key in the regedit. i got windows7 64bit on my x220tablet, intel i5 cpu. lenovo system updater never worked for me. has anyone a solution for this problem? how exactly is the solution with the key done (is it a, key, dword etc.)?

best regards


On Windows 7 64-bit the registry value will be in HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Lenovo\System Update

 

Just wondering also if you system has ever had a planar replacement done?

Lenovo Staff
parkerjnc
Posts: 567
Registered: ‎01-16-2010
Location: USA
0

Re: System update not working X220

It seems at some point the system check failed and UNDEFINED was populated.  I would have expected it to be updated again the next time TVSU is run.

 

Right now does your registry contain Vendor = "THINK" because you manually changed it to that or did TVSU eventually populate that?

 

Does the value remain after restarting TVSU and after restarting the system?

Fanfold Paper
eli3000
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎08-30-2011
Location: Europe
0

Re: System update not working X220

[ Edited ]

Hi thank you for the info. Now I've found the key in the registry and it was already set to 'THINK'. So this is propably not the cause here. My x220T is a new one (just bought it a couple of days ago) and i didn't change anything. I run avira antivir - disabeling didnt help. What do you mean by planar replacement of the system?

 

btw. now the error message i've got is: "an error was detected in the package catalog for that system on the update server" (my system is in german so hopefully i've translated it correctly)

 

the reg-key is:

[HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Lenovo\System Update]
"HelloClientLevel"="HelloLevel/8.07.00"
"BuildDate"="2011-7-25"
"DefaultLanguage"="DE"
"InstallationDir"="C:\\Program Files (x86)\\Lenovo\\System Update\\"
"LanguageOverride"=""
"LastLaunchedArgs"=""
"Version"="4.01.0015"
"Vendor"="THINK"
"NumberOfCriticalPending"=""
"LastNumberOfUpdatesInstalled"=""
"LastCheckForUpdatesDateTime"="2011-09-22 20:37:51"