Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Blue Screen Again
daragh
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎05-21-2010
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
0

Re: Thinkvantage Toolbox - FAIL

I hope this helps, because I am disappointed that:

1. you didn't test this properly, and

2. so many people are having problems, and

3. the forums are saying this is solved, but IT'S NOT. :smileysad:

 

Had issues (T61/Win7/64-bit) with recent update that was ironically so brash as to say that startup errors had been fixed, so:

 

un-installed, and

downloaded latest version available on support website (lttsetup_60545012x64.exe)

Once it started, it wanted to do an automatic update (from version 12 to version 55, apparently), and downloaded 1.4Mb - prompted to install

As *it* installed, it *also* looked for more updates (?) and downloaded *another* 43Mb. It reported the following, which was the same as the update that broke it in the first place (but no new version # reported):

 

" * Improved startup time 

* Corrected startup and stability issues 

* Reduced memory and CPU footprint 

* Added new tests: WWAN, CUDA, Video ports 

* Enhanced accessibility 

* Improved Toolbar icon behavior"

It downloaded, reported 'Install complete' and provided a 'Finish' button.

Clicking on the icon in the toolbar (does it have to be SO big?), it starts up, but causes a Windows error:

 

Description:

  Stopped working

 

Problem signature:

  Problem Event Name: CLR20r3

  Problem Signature 01: pcdrcui.exe

  Problem Signature 02: 6.0.5514.52

  Problem Signature 03: 4be4b515

  Problem Signature 04: mscorlib

  Problem Signature 05: 2.0.0.0

  Problem Signature 06: 4a27471d

  Problem Signature 07: 20c8

  Problem Signature 08: 143

  Problem Signature 09: N3CTRYE2KN3C34SGL4ZQYRBFTE4M13NB

  OS Version: 6.1.7600.2.0.0.256.48

  Locale ID: 1033

 

I can still interact with the main window, so can see the Help|About reports v 6.0.5144.55

Note that the 'System Health' module is still 'processing' and the 'Enhanced Backup and Restore' component is the only one showing that spinning icon. I'm guessing that's where your issue is. 

 

 

Please let us know when you've tested the fix. Thanks.

 

 

lttsetup_60545012x64
Lenovo Staff
Herik
Posts: 1,591
Registered: ‎07-17-2009
Location: Slovakia
0

Re: Thinkvantage Toolbox - FAIL

Hi,
@daragh
Please understand, that a solution, that is working for one person don't need to work on a second system, as the configuration is always different.

If I understand you situation correctly, then you cannot use the "Enhanced Backup and Restore" component? If this is true, then please let me know ,the version of Rescue and Recovery, that you have installed on your machine.

Maybe a screenshot would be good.

Thanks
Cheers

Blue Screen Again
daragh
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎05-21-2010
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
0

Re: Thinkvantage Toolbox - FAIL

Hi Herik,

 

thanks for your swift response.

 

There are a number of people that are having this issue, and consider that only a small percentage make it to the forums.

 

I do not have Rescue and Recovery installed.

 

Thanks.

Lenovo Staff
Herik
Posts: 1,591
Registered: ‎07-17-2009
Location: Slovakia
0

Re: Thinkvantage Toolbox - FAIL

Hi,
as far as I remember the button, that you have described "Enhanced Backup and Restore" refers to the Rescue and Recovery application. In case you don't have it installed, what is your case, then this function will not work at all.
In this situation, you can either install Rescue and Recovery, or remove this button/option from the Toolbox.

This is the design, that by default all these options are present in the Toolbox GUI.

Please let me know, your update on this situation.

Cheers

Fanfold Paper
wan2-R61-XP-sp3
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-01-2009
Location: Berlin, Germany
0

Re: Thinkvantage Toolbox - FAIL

Hi Herik,

I hope it's ok when I post here instead of opening a new thread.

 

My Problem after the just freshly instaled version of toolbox (6.0.5514.55) is that even though I do have system update and R&R it will not start any of those nor any other apps (like the device manager) out of the tool box.

 

The older version worked fine on my R61-7733-3GG win7-Pro 64bit

 

cheers

Lenovo Staff
Herik
Posts: 1,591
Registered: ‎07-17-2009
Location: Slovakia
0

Re: Thinkvantage Toolbox - FAIL

Hi,

thanks for getting back to this.

 

Do you see any error when you try to start it?

Cheers

Fanfold Paper
wan2-R61-XP-sp3
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎03-01-2009
Location: Berlin, Germany
0

Re: Thinkvantage Toolbox - FAIL

no I don't see any errors when starting the TB. It also shows the properly that I should do a backup and that my VPN client is deactivated, but when I want to take care of these issues the TB does not launch the apps. There is the win7 ring showing for a couple of milliseconds but nothing happens.

Blue Screen Again
daragh
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎05-21-2010
Location: Chicago, IL, USA
0

Re: Thinkvantage Toolbox - FAIL