Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Punch Card
dulverton
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎12-04-2009
Location: canada
0

Toolbox won't install

Installing toolbox on aTt60 series 2007. Hangs at "execute pcdoctor/pcdr5cuiw32.exe-backgroundmonsetup." Have removed previous version of pcdoctor prior to installation. First tried several automatic updates always stalled at 91% complete. Have to stop process in windows task manager in order to uninstall. Operating system windows XP service pack 3.

Solution?

GMAC-R60
Posts: 1,928
Kudos: 161
Solutions: 96
Registered: ‎05-16-2008
Location: USA
0

Re: Toolbox won't install

try thishttp://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site.wss/document.do?sitestyle=lenovo&lndocid=MIGR-73783




_______________________________
Thinkpad R61 7733-1GU
Thinkpad X61T 7762-54U
Thinkpad X60T 6363-4GU
_______________________________

Did a member help you today? Thank them with a Kudo!

If a post answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"!

Regards,
GMAC
Punch Card
dulverton
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎12-04-2009
Location: canada
0

Re: Toolbox won't install

No success. Hangs at "execute pcdoctor/pcdr5cuiw32.exe-backgroundmonsetup" Thanks for trying to help. I do get the icon in the start menu but when activated I get a run time error. Will reinstall PCdoctor 5 toolbox which worked fine. Not happy with Lenovo's recent updates. Hotkey update I believe gives me a ACPI  ATK0100 driver error on start up, and the Communications update does not recognize that I am connected to the Internet!! Everything worked fine before!! Must be an important message in this.

GMAC-R60
Posts: 1,928
Kudos: 161
Solutions: 96
Registered: ‎05-16-2008
Location: USA
0

Re: Toolbox won't install

have you tried shuting down your firewall durring the install prosses may help & update to the latest bios




_______________________________
Thinkpad R61 7733-1GU
Thinkpad X61T 7762-54U
Thinkpad X60T 6363-4GU
_______________________________

Did a member help you today? Thank them with a Kudo!

If a post answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"!

Regards,
GMAC
Punch Card
dulverton
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎12-04-2009
Location: canada
0

Re: Toolbox won't install

I have the latest BIOS for the T60. All files downloaded and extracted without issue. I will try the firewall turn off, but I would be surprised if that is the issue since PC doctor 5 installs without a problem. Having installed and unistalled 5 times I will give it a rest for now. Having read the various messages in this forum  theTool Box looks like unwanted marketing and spyware !! But thanks for your advice.

 

I did solve my ACPI ATK0100 issue, I had the wrong driver installed.

GMAC-R60
Posts: 1,928
Kudos: 161
Solutions: 96
Registered: ‎05-16-2008
Location: USA
0

Re: Toolbox won't install

I miss understood thought it would not download but could be your anti virus stopping it from installing I like the toolbox it does a lot more than pcdoc it has everything about your system in one place including warranty info




_______________________________
Thinkpad R61 7733-1GU
Thinkpad X61T 7762-54U
Thinkpad X60T 6363-4GU
_______________________________

Did a member help you today? Thank them with a Kudo!

If a post answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"!

Regards,
GMAC
Fanfold Paper
gurnx
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎11-04-2008
Location: Atlanta GA
0

Re: Toolbox won't install

My R61i is having the same problem. Downloaded the app from IBM's site, install uninstalled the previous version & proceeded through this install until the 'execute c:\program files\... -backgroundmonsetup' point, been sitting there over 10 minutes.

Jim in Atlanta
R61i 8932-A17
X61 tablet 7764-CTO
X61s 7668-CTO
GMAC-R60
Posts: 1,928
Kudos: 161
Solutions: 96
Registered: ‎05-16-2008
Location: USA
0

Re: Toolbox won't install

you don't have any programs like system mechanic that stops programs from installing I have system mechanic  system guard that stops everything I get a popup that says allow or block some antivirus will block things with 32.exe in them




_______________________________
Thinkpad R61 7733-1GU
Thinkpad X61T 7762-54U
Thinkpad X60T 6363-4GU
_______________________________

Did a member help you today? Thank them with a Kudo!

If a post answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"!

Regards,
GMAC
Punch Card
dulverton
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎12-04-2009
Location: canada
0

Re: Toolbox won't install

I am using Microsoft security essentials as my anti virus and so far it has behaved in down loading other programs. In reading through the various submissions to this discussion group quite a few persons seem to be having the same issue. Its a pity that the ThinkVantage section is not catagorized by topic.

Punch Card
dulverton
Posts: 11
Registered: ‎12-04-2009
Location: canada
0

Re: Toolbox won't install

I am confused your link is to the site that I downloaded the program from.