Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Ctrl-Alt-Del
Caduceus
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎10-17-2008
Location: Galveston, Texas
0
Accepted Solution

Unable to run System Update (tvsu.exe 3.14) on R61i Vista

Microsoft Visual C++ Runtime Library

 

Runtime Error

 

Program: C:\Program Files\Lenovo\System Update\tvsu.exe

 

 

This application has requested the Runtime to terminate it in an unusual way.

Please contact the application's support team for more information.

 

 

 

I have tried everything I can think of to get system update to run.  I uninstalled and reinstalled.  I tried running it in administrator mode.  I did multiple windows update checks, I even tried to reinstall .NET 2.0.  I confirmed I am running Vista SP1.  I tried to run the Vista tvsu.exe (3.14) in XP compatibility mode and I tried the XP tvsu.exe (3.14) in XP compatibility mode.  Any suggestions as to where I go from here?
Agotthelf
Posts: 3,799
Topics: 146
Kudos: 262
Solutions: 182
Registered: ‎01-05-2008
Location: Münster, Germany GMT +1
0

Re: Unable to run System Update (tvsu.exe 3.14) on R61i Vista

Hello,

 

please try updating your Java software. 

_________________________________________________________
Follow
@LenovoForums on Twitter!
Try the forum search, before first posting: Forum Search Option
Please insert your type, model (not S/N) number and used OS in your posts.
I´m a volunteer here using New X1 Carbon, ThinkPad Yoga, Yoga 11s, Yoga 13, T430s,T510, X220t, IdeaCentre B540.
TIP: If your computer runs satisfactorily now, it may not be necessary to update the system.

English English Community      Deutsche Deutsche Community      Español Comunidad en Español

Ctrl-Alt-Del
Caduceus
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎10-17-2008
Location: Galveston, Texas
0

Re: Unable to run System Update (tvsu.exe 3.14) on R61i Vista

Java is already up to date and running correctly.
Agotthelf
Posts: 3,799
Topics: 146
Kudos: 262
Solutions: 182
Registered: ‎01-05-2008
Location: Münster, Germany GMT +1
0

Re: Unable to run System Update (tvsu.exe 3.14) on R61i Vista

[ Edited ]

Hello,

 

then uninstall SU, restart, clean your registry with ccleaner or tuneup utillities,

then restart and install newest version form Lenovo support pages.

 

edit: Su need only Net 2.0 SP1

 

Message Edited by Agotthelf on 10-18-2008 06:37 PM

_________________________________________________________
Follow
@LenovoForums on Twitter!
Try the forum search, before first posting: Forum Search Option
Please insert your type, model (not S/N) number and used OS in your posts.
I´m a volunteer here using New X1 Carbon, ThinkPad Yoga, Yoga 11s, Yoga 13, T430s,T510, X220t, IdeaCentre B540.
TIP: If your computer runs satisfactorily now, it may not be necessary to update the system.

English English Community      Deutsche Deutsche Community      Español Comunidad en Español

Ctrl-Alt-Del
Caduceus
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎10-17-2008
Location: Galveston, Texas
0

Re: Unable to run System Update (tvsu.exe 3.14) on R61i Vista

I just tried downloading .NET Framework V3.5 with its SP1 and I am still getting the same error.

 

I will try the suggestion mentioned in the previous post...

Ctrl-Alt-Del
Caduceus
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎10-17-2008
Location: Galveston, Texas
0

Re: Unable to run System Update (tvsu.exe 3.14) on R61i Vista

I tried the unistall, registry clear, and reinstall (with reboots in between each step) twice and I still get the same error...
Agotthelf
Posts: 3,799
Topics: 146
Kudos: 262
Solutions: 182
Registered: ‎01-05-2008
Location: Münster, Germany GMT +1
0

Re: Unable to run System Update (tvsu.exe 3.14) on R61i Vista

Which antivirus or third party firewall do you use?

 

Are the entries with exclamation mark in your event viewer (to find in Vista administration).

Perhaps you have you disabled some important Vista services?

 

_________________________________________________________
Follow
@LenovoForums on Twitter!
Try the forum search, before first posting: Forum Search Option
Please insert your type, model (not S/N) number and used OS in your posts.
I´m a volunteer here using New X1 Carbon, ThinkPad Yoga, Yoga 11s, Yoga 13, T430s,T510, X220t, IdeaCentre B540.
TIP: If your computer runs satisfactorily now, it may not be necessary to update the system.

English English Community      Deutsche Deutsche Community      Español Comunidad en Español

Ctrl-Alt-Del
Caduceus
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎10-17-2008
Location: Galveston, Texas
0

Re: Unable to run System Update (tvsu.exe 3.14) on R61i Vista

I just checked and there is nothing significant in my event history log...  Do you know of a way that I can uninstall the entire Lenovo Care suite and then reinstall it?  If so, do you think doing so would fix my problem?
Agotthelf
Posts: 3,799
Topics: 146
Kudos: 262
Solutions: 182
Registered: ‎01-05-2008
Location: Münster, Germany GMT +1
0

Re: Unable to run System Update (tvsu.exe 3.14) on R61i Vista

Hello Caduceus,

 

I wouldn´t recommend to uninstall the entire suite. Cause you will double the problems.

In this case a system recovery may help.

 

For getting updates this RSS feed may be usefull for you. Simply enter your model number and you´ll get the latest updates

as a RSS notificaton.

 

Also the R61i won´t need updates if your machine runs satisfactionally now. Updating is not always recommend.

_________________________________________________________
Follow
@LenovoForums on Twitter!
Try the forum search, before first posting: Forum Search Option
Please insert your type, model (not S/N) number and used OS in your posts.
I´m a volunteer here using New X1 Carbon, ThinkPad Yoga, Yoga 11s, Yoga 13, T430s,T510, X220t, IdeaCentre B540.
TIP: If your computer runs satisfactorily now, it may not be necessary to update the system.

English English Community      Deutsche Deutsche Community      Español Comunidad en Español

What's DOS?
goldstarking
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎01-08-2009
Location: Durham
0

Re: Unable to run System Update (tvsu.exe 3.14) on R61i Vista

Hi, My laptop is R61 and I have exact the same Runtime error. Please suggest me how to fix it. Thanks.