Support in other languages: 
Reply
802.11n
JNavas
Posts: 563
Registered: ‎08-07-2010
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
0

Underwhelmed by Lenovo AutoLock

So I thought I'd give Lenovo AutoLock a try on my ThinkPad X220.

But the darn thing wouldn't show a green circle of face recognition around my head.

I eventually figured out the problem: my baseball-style cap!

  • With a cap ON, face recognition doesn't work.
  • With a cap OFF, face recognition works, albeit a bit erratically.
  • Doesn't seem possible to train it to work any better.

Since I often wear a cap, that makes AutoLock pretty much useless, a good idea badly implemented -- even a cheap low-end digital camera does much better on face recognition.

 

AutoLock needs much better face recognition to be practical.

Hope that helps,
John
ThinkPad T420s [ i5-2540M CPU | 8GB RAM | 1TB SSD | Bay Battery | BT | Webcam | FR | Win7Pro64 ]
RAID Mirror
PanEuropean
Posts: 488
Registered: ‎02-17-2009
Location: Vancouver Island

Re: Underwhelmed by Lenovo AutoLock

Well, now you know why Lenovo calls it Face Recognition and not Cap Recognition. :smileytongue:

W520 (4270 CTO), which replaced a W500 (4062-27U), which replaced a T42P, which replaced an A21P...
Agotthelf
Posts: 3,740
Topics: 136
Kudos: 241
Solutions: 175
Registered: ‎01-05-2008
Location: Münster, Germany GMT +1

Re: Underwhelmed by Lenovo AutoLock

@PanEuropean

 

LOL :smileyvery-happy:

_________________________________________________________
Follow
@LenovoForums on Twitter!
Try the forum search, before first posting: Forum Search Option
Please insert your type, model (not S/N) number and used OS in your posts.
I´m a volunteer here using Yoga 11s, Yoga 13, T510, X220t, T61.
TIP: If your computer runs satisfactorily now, it may not be necessary to update the system.

English English Community      Deutsche Deutsche Community      Español Comunidad en Español

802.11n
JNavas
Posts: 563
Registered: ‎08-07-2010
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
0

Re: Underwhelmed by Lenovo AutoLock


Agotthelf wrote:

@PanEuropean

LOL :smileyvery-happy:


There's nothing funnier than crappy software. :smileywink:

Somewhere Steve Jobs is smiling.

Hope that helps,
John
ThinkPad T420s [ i5-2540M CPU | 8GB RAM | 1TB SSD | Bay Battery | BT | Webcam | FR | Win7Pro64 ]
RAID Mirror
PanEuropean
Posts: 488
Registered: ‎02-17-2009
Location: Vancouver Island

Re: Underwhelmed by Lenovo AutoLock

[ Edited ]

JNavas wrote:

Somewhere Steve Jobs is smiling.



Or, more likely, he is rolling his eyes.  I don't ever remember seeing Steve Jobs wearing a baseball cap. :smileyvery-happy:

 

(Just teasing you , with no intention to insult you)

 

Michael

W520 (4270 CTO), which replaced a W500 (4062-27U), which replaced a T42P, which replaced an A21P...
802.11n
JNavas
Posts: 563
Registered: ‎08-07-2010
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
0

Re: Underwhelmed by Lenovo AutoLock


PanEuropean wrote:

JNavas wrote:

Somewhere Steve Jobs is smiling.


Or, more likely, he is rolling his eyes.  I don't ever remember seeing Steve Jobs wearing a baseball cap. :smileyvery-happy:

(Just teasing you , with no intention to insult you)

Michael


http://www.edgeboston.com/index.php?ch=style&sc=fashion&sc3=&id=72509

Hope that helps,
John
ThinkPad T420s [ i5-2540M CPU | 8GB RAM | 1TB SSD | Bay Battery | BT | Webcam | FR | Win7Pro64 ]
Guru
ColonelONeill
Posts: 6,377
Registered: ‎12-26-2009
Location: Toronto
0

Re: Underwhelmed by Lenovo AutoLock

Eh. Facial recognition has never been done well, and probably won't be short of active scanning. Even then there're other basic issues that it can't compensate for.
W520: i7-2720QM, Q2000M at 1090/695/1390, 22GB RAM, 500GB HDD, FHD screen
TPT1: 1839-23U, stock ICS
X61T: L7500, 3GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
Token Ring
BMGRAHAM
Posts: 57
Registered: ‎04-23-2008
Location: Maryland
0

Re: Underwhelmed by Lenovo AutoLock

This software also stops dual screen from working properly.  I had it installed and could not figure out why the E520 could not remember the dual screen settings when I rebooted, or if I disconnected then reconnected the external monitor.

Uninstalling the autolock software fixed the problem.