Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Ctrl-Alt-Del
Elmasri
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-29-2011
Location: CANADA
0

1920x1200 Bug


I have a lenovo w500 4058-cto. There has been several concerns that where really annoying. Currently i am running on windows 7 supported by lenovo.

 

(1) The native display is 1920x1200, with a default 150% DPI. Programs which are (window independent) always act weird, for example Hotkeys display, Norton 2011, and other similar window independent applications sometimes are displayed either small (high resolution) or stretches to bigger ones. 

 

(2) Skype notifications cannot popup unless i downgrade the resolution. Plus, if you move the mouse over the close button it starts blinking, and other applications act the same.

 

Kindly advise me if there is a fix or other workarounds possible because it is really annoying.

 

Note: tried different windows 7 versions, generic windows drivers but no good.

 

Highly appreciate your efforts.:smileyhappy:

Guru
ColonelONeill
Posts: 7,052
Registered: ‎12-26-2009
Location: Toronto
0

Re: 1920x1200 Bug

[ Edited ]

Does it work properly at the standard 100% DPI?

 

Which graphics adapter do you have?

W520: i7-2720QM, Q2000M at 1080/670/1340, 21GB RAM, 500GB HDD, FHD screen
X61T: L7500, 3GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
Ctrl-Alt-Del
Elmasri
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-29-2011
Location: CANADA
0

Re: 1920x1200 Bug

if i use the 100% it will be super tiny, so i have to lower the resolution and if i do so it looks so ugly and doesn't really fit to the screen nicely.

 

I tried both the intel and the ATI, but no luck. It is an issue with the display driver or monitor driver. I hope there is a fix for that.

 

Please help.


Thanks

Ctrl-Alt-Del
Elmasri
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-29-2011
Location: CANADA
0

Re: 1920x1200 Bug

[ Edited ]

Additional bug in the display is the cutting text in some applications such as: torrent clients and Computer Manage option as showen in the picture:

 

I hope this will find its way too for a fix along with the unstable UI of applications.

 

http://i52.tinypic.com/slsqdc.jpg

 

looking forward for your advise :smileysad:

 

Moderator Note: Image size > 50k, converted to link.

Guru
ColonelONeill
Posts: 7,052
Registered: ‎12-26-2009
Location: Toronto
0

Re: 1920x1200 Bug

Did you further change the font-sizes yourself after switching DPI's?

I'm thinking it's just the imperfect DPI scaling, but I'm not entirely sure on that.
W520: i7-2720QM, Q2000M at 1080/670/1340, 21GB RAM, 500GB HDD, FHD screen
X61T: L7500, 3GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
Ctrl-Alt-Del
Elmasri
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-29-2011
Location: CANADA
0

Re: 1920x1200 Bug

This is the native DPI with the Large text size. If i start reducing the resolution and the text size will look ugly with a bad resolution. The thing is that i don't want to sacrifice the native high resolution for such bugs. :smileyindifferent:

 

Lenovo should look to solve all of those bugs seriously !!

 

 

Guru
ColonelONeill
Posts: 7,052
Registered: ‎12-26-2009
Location: Toronto
0

Re: 1920x1200 Bug

[ Edited ]

Looks more like a Windows bug. You might want to only increase DPI and not change font size. Maybe only increasing font size without changing DPI will also work, but I'm less certain on that.

W520: i7-2720QM, Q2000M at 1080/670/1340, 21GB RAM, 500GB HDD, FHD screen
X61T: L7500, 3GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
Ctrl-Alt-Del
Elmasri
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-29-2011
Location: CANADA
0

Re: 1920x1200 Bug

I tried all possible combination with no luck. one of the lenovo supporting centers told me you might have to replace your display to 1680x1050. But of course that will cost me a fortune and it is a bug that is not worth investing for a solution. :smileytongue:

 

I really like the high resolution but its really buggy and causing a headache to fix it. :smileysad:

 

 

Please advise me.

 

Regards

Guru
ColonelONeill
Posts: 7,052
Registered: ‎12-26-2009
Location: Toronto
0

Re: 1920x1200 Bug

Might just need to use standard DPI and standard font sizes. =/
W520: i7-2720QM, Q2000M at 1080/670/1340, 21GB RAM, 500GB HDD, FHD screen
X61T: L7500, 3GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
Ctrl-Alt-Del
Elmasri
Posts: 7
Registered: ‎04-29-2011
Location: CANADA
0

Re: 1920x1200 Bug

 

Hehe, no luck. Unless i really lower the resolution and restore the DPI to either 120 or 125 % DPI. Yet, it looks crappy. :smileysurprised: