Support in other languages: 
Paper Tape
twek
Accepted Solution

Are these laptops built to fail??? video included!

So a few days ago my lenovo started outputing distorted video... then it would BSoD and when i rebooted it itd be fine for a little while then do it again... i did this twice before when i rebooted it no video would output at all, not even on an external display, of course, i am out of warrentee, i swear nothing ever breaks while its IN warentee. i have a pretty extensvie computer repair background so i decided to preform an autopsy... my findings where alittle unnerving. it seems teh heatsink for the graphics card on this computer is simply glued on... there is no screws, or anything to hold it... needless to say my heatsink was not in contact with my graphics processor, for god knows how long... im a college student living off residuals from software i write in my spare time, and dont have the $400 to replace the motherboard, nor do i really have the means to make that much money w.o my main development computer... i didnt mind shelling out the extra money to buy a lenovo cuz i thought i was getting quality, but this is rediculious.

anyways here is a youtube vid of the problem

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JtAA-RhhrxI

what do i do now?

Punch Card
OrosAraba

Re: Are these laptops built to fail??? video included!

Isn't the "bouncing" effect enhanced by the fact that the processor heatsink screws aren't in place when doing this footage? Not that I doubt what is going on there, but still gives a bit of extra drama to it.

802.11n
Jimbo

[ Edited ]

I may have suddenly jumped into a parallel universe, but that looks like the inside of a W500 (switchable graphics model), and not a W510 as described in the title of your video.

And according to page 87 of the ThinkPad T500 and W500 Hardware Maintenance Manual, it looks like you're missing two of the brackets (steps 1, 2 and 3) that hold down the heatsink.