Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Paper Tape
mitchbu

Internal speakers have stopped working (Lenovo W500 with Win 7 Pro)

Hi

I have a Lenovo W500 4062-5YG... O/S: Win 7 Pro

My sound device is a Conexant 20561 SmartAudio HD.

The problem is, that the internal speakers have stopped working all of a sudden... I think it is a hardware problem since when I hookup external speakers or headphones they produce sound... but I am no expert!

I have done the following to try and fix it:

1. Disable, then enable audio drivers
  2. Uinstall, then install audio drivers
  3. Setting the internal speakers as the default speaker source
  4. Restoring the system to an earlier day (where I knew that the speakers had functioned)

None of these actions have worked.

I actually thought I could perform a hardware test on the speakers in the "Lenovo Solution Center"... but it doesn't seem like it:-(

So...

1. How can I know for sure whether it is a hardware or software problem?
  2. And more importantly - How can I get my internal speakers to work?

Any help is appreciated.

Cheers

Philip

harishnailwal
Topics: 0
Kudos: 1
Solutions: 2

Re: Internal speakers have stopped working (Lenovo W500 with Win 7 Pro)

Hello Philip,

As mentioned in your post, you have performed all the major troubleshooting steps to resolve the issue. I suggest you to update your BIOS also in order to resolve your issue. You can download and update the BIOS update utility from the below mentioned web link.

http://support.lenovo.com/en_SG/downloads/default.page?