Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Guru
harrisb
Posts: 1,031
Registered: ‎04-20-2008
Location: Cary, NC
0

Re: Multiple BSOD on W520

[ Edited ]

@hrana

 

The OP responded that is 2x4gb not 2x8gb. I would choose the following memory kit instead as CRUCIAL is manufactured by Micron which is also certified for the W520.

 

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820148469

W520, i7-2820QM, BIOS 1.42, 1920x1080 FHD, 32 GB RAM, 2000M NVIDIA GPU, Samsung 840 Pro 480GB SSD, Crucial M500 mSata 480GB, WD 2TB USB 3.0, eSata Plextor PX-LB950UE BluRay

W520, i7-2760QM, BIOS 1.42 1920x1080 FHD, 32 GB RAM, 1000M NVIDIA GPU, Crucial M500 480GB mSata SSD, Hitachi 500GB HDD, WD 2TB USB 3.0
eos
802.11n
eos
Posts: 450
Registered: ‎06-30-2011
Location: gibraltar
0

Re: Multiple BSOD on W520

I can confirm that since upgrading with the additional 2x4GB Cricial ram, I am getting at least one random BSOD a day.  The last one was:

 

PAGE_FAULT_IN_NONPAGED_AREA

STOP: 0x00000050

 

As I am travelling for the next 10 days, I have no way to remove the RAM as it requires some very thin wide knives to prize back the keyboard which I dont hvae with me.

 

Is there any way to disable the ram without removing it?

eos
802.11n
eos
Posts: 450
Registered: ‎06-30-2011
Location: gibraltar
0

Re: Multiple BSOD on W520

I have managed to borrow some tools to prize off the keyboard, and have removed the Curical Ram which they advertise as compatible with the w520.   No BSODs since.  Of course, I dont know if is the Cruical, or would give the same Crashes with any additional RAM.

 

Next step is to battle to get a refund from crucial. What a huge waste of time, and back to square one with running out of ram all the time with only 8GB. 

Paper Tape
Fungovernor
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎10-28-2008
Location: Unitted States
0

Re: Multiple BSOD on W520

I had this very issue.  WHile the motherboard and specs state 10600 ram is the key to victory, when you use that speed with 16gb you're lead to failure.  I put 4x4gb 8500 speed ddr3 ram in, and I was good to go and have had no BSODs.

 

Not the best answer in the world, but it worked for me. :-)