Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
802.11n
huberth
Posts: 539
Registered: ‎07-08-2009
Location: USA
0

No RAID option in Thinkpad W520 BIOS

There is no RAID option in my Thinkpad W520 BIOS

 

I only get the "ACHI" and "Compatibility" mode.

 

I intended to put two SSDs in RAID 0 and did not want to buy 2 mechanical HDDs.

 

It appears that you only get the "RAID" controller when you order the W520 with 2 mechanical HDDs and let Lenovo configure the RAID for you .

 

I may have to send my unit back. I am VERY disappointed that this was not made clear at the Point of Sale.

 

My UEFI BIOS Version  1.06  -  BIOS Date 2011-03-02

_______________________________________________________________________
W520 4270CTO i7-2820QM Quadro2000M 1920x1080 Display 16GB RAM 2x240GB Intel 510 SSDs (RAID 0) - BIOS 1.42 - PCMark7:4,568
Samsung Series 9 15-inch NP900X4C-A03US - PCMark7: 4674
Bit Torrent
ThorsHammer
Posts: 2,400
Registered: ‎04-08-2011
Location: USA
0

Re: No RAID option in Thinkpad W520 BIOS

Do all W520's have RAID? 

 

I have three drives in mine.  RAID is not an option.

 

802.11n
Volker1
Posts: 334
Registered: ‎03-02-2010
Location: Dublin
0

Re: No RAID option in Thinkpad W520 BIOS

The W520 has hardware raid only if you order it with raid enabled. 

 

Punch Card
zaXXon
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎03-28-2011
Location: USA
0

Re: No RAID option in Thinkpad W520 BIOS

I wonder if there is another SATA controller in the RAID enabled machines.

community supermod
erik
Posts: 5,028
Registered: ‎11-23-2007
Location: United States
0

Re: No RAID option in Thinkpad W520 BIOS


ThorsHammer wrote:

Do all W520's have RAID? 

 

I have three drives in mine.  RAID is not an option.


apparently not.   the HMM shows listings for both RAID and non-RAID planars.

ThinkStation C20Microsoft MVP
ThinkPad X1C · X220 · X60T · s30

Bit Torrent
ThorsHammer
Posts: 2,400
Registered: ‎04-08-2011
Location: USA
0

Re: No RAID option in Thinkpad W520 BIOS

[ Edited ]

Then someone needs to fix the lenovo.com buying site, again.  The current configurator is confusing people.  My interpretation of the current option showing in the configurator is that the machine will ship with RAID.  You can choose to have it arrive RAID capable but unconfigured, or buy two drives at the time of purchase and have it factory configured.

 

Apparently that isn't the case.

 

If the only way to get RAID is to buy two drives from Lenovo, a lot of people aren't going to like that option unless Lenovo lowers their drive prices to reasonable levels.

Fanfold Paper
hrana
Posts: 28
Registered: ‎04-24-2011
Location: USA
0

Re: No RAID option in Thinkpad W520 BIOS

The lack of RAID on non-factory configured systems has been discussed on StorageReview and NotebookReview as well. I agree the configurator needs to be changed because I can also confirm that I can't enable RAID.

Punch Card
pkincy
Posts: 75
Registered: ‎06-26-2009
Location: S. Cal.
0

Re: No RAID option in Thinkpad W520 BIOS

I think the language has been changed.  It now says; Internal RAID: not enabled or Internal RAID: configured by Lenovo.

 

When I ordered it said something more like Internal RAID: user configured or Internal RAID: preconfigured by Lenovo.

 

I do forget the exact wording, but the old wording pretty clearly indicated you had it but it was just not yet configured.

 

My actual order however says: Internal RAID not configured.

 

Perry

Perry
W520, I7 2720QM, M4 512 GB SSD OS/Program Disk, C300 256 GB Data Disk in Ultrabay Caddy; X220, I7 2620, Samsung 256 GB SSD, Intel 310 mSata Drv, T61, ancient but working, Asus MoBo, I7 2600k overclocked
Blue Screen Again
aofi
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-06-2011
Location: canada
0

Re: No RAID option in Thinkpad W520 BIOS

[ Edited ]

I was told the W520 supports raid 1/0

What do I need to buy to implement this after buying the base model?

 

Moderator note; post merged to thread, subject edited

Blue Screen Again
aofi
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎05-06-2011
Location: canada
0

Re: No RAID option in Thinkpad W520 BIOS

have you guys checked to see if it's just a different BIOS image? Seems silly to have two different motherboards, one with the raid chip and one without.