Support in other languages: 
Reply
Guru
harrisb
Posts: 1,017
Registered: ‎04-20-2008
Location: Cary, NC
0
Accepted Solution

RapidBoot with SSD?

[ Edited ]

Is these feature really needed with an mSata SSD installed? Version 1.12 apparently turns on (or tries to turn on) the Superfetch function on my SSD according to the Intel SSD Toolbox. I had ReadyBoost turned off on all drives and the modules are not even installed on my system. I checked in computer services and the service is set to disabled so I'm not sure why the Intel SSD Toolbox application told me it was enabled, but it wasn't running! I could have the tool turn off the function on the SSD, but every time I rebooted the warning message came back. The only way I could stop this behavior was to uninstall RapidBoot 1.12 (1.11 did not have this behavior).
 
BTW, how can I get the previous copy of RapidBoot 1.11?


Update: I restored the previous version from one of my backups. I cleaned up the Windows\PreFetch directory and then reinstalled RapidBoot 1.12. The problem was no longer present. :smileyhappy:

W520, i7-2820QM, BIOS 1.41, 1920x1080 FHD, 32 GB RAM, 2000M NVIDIA GPU, Samsung 840 Pro 480GB SSD, Hitachi 1TB 7200rpm HDD, WD 2TB USB 3.0, eSata Plextor PX-LB950UE BluRay

W520, i7-2760QM, BIOS 1.41 1920x1080 FHD, 32 GB RAM, 1000M NVIDIA GPU, Crucial M500 480GB mSata SSD, Hitachi 500GB HDD, WD 2TB USB 3.0
802.11n
huberth
Posts: 538
Registered: ‎07-08-2009
Location: USA
0

Re: RapidBoot with SSD?

[ Edited ]

I found this from Lenovo Australia (not sure if it applies):

 

http://consumersupport.lenovo.com/au/en/HintsandTips/hints_show_12870415982811.html

 

_______________________________________________________________________
W520 4270CTO i7-2820QM Quadro2000M 1920x1080 Display 16GB RAM 2x240GB Intel 510 SSDs (RAID 0) - BIOS 1.42 - PCMark7:4,568
Samsung Series 9 15-inch NP900X4C-A03US - PCMark7: 4674
eos
Token Ring
eos
Posts: 388
Registered: ‎06-30-2011
Location: gibraltar
0

Re: RapidBoot with SSD?

Im sooo happy I dont have an SSD. They sound like a nightmare.
W520, i7-2720QM, Quadro 2000M, 16GB 1333, 1080p panel, msata M4 256GB, Crucial M4 512GB SSD, Scorpio Black 750GB. Bios 1.38 Power Manager 6.64.1. Dell U3011 & 3007 wfp. Minidoc 3, 9&6 cell batteries. Problems: 1) 2h battery life. 2) DVDs unreadable after burning 3) two finger scrolling on trackpad is unusable. 4) mic is unusable for Skype 5) speakers are unusably quiet for films 6) battery drains by 10%/day when shutdown.
Guru
harrisb
Posts: 1,017
Registered: ‎04-20-2008
Location: Cary, NC
0

Re: RapidBoot with SSD?

That is for RapidDrive. I wanted to find the relevance of RapidBoot on an SSD. Thanks anyway.

W520, i7-2820QM, BIOS 1.41, 1920x1080 FHD, 32 GB RAM, 2000M NVIDIA GPU, Samsung 840 Pro 480GB SSD, Hitachi 1TB 7200rpm HDD, WD 2TB USB 3.0, eSata Plextor PX-LB950UE BluRay

W520, i7-2760QM, BIOS 1.41 1920x1080 FHD, 32 GB RAM, 1000M NVIDIA GPU, Crucial M500 480GB mSata SSD, Hitachi 500GB HDD, WD 2TB USB 3.0
802.11n
huberth
Posts: 538
Registered: ‎07-08-2009
Location: USA
0

Re: RapidBoot with SSD?

I am so glad I don't have a car. Much less problems with a bicycle :smileywink:

_______________________________________________________________________
W520 4270CTO i7-2820QM Quadro2000M 1920x1080 Display 16GB RAM 2x240GB Intel 510 SSDs (RAID 0) - BIOS 1.42 - PCMark7:4,568
Samsung Series 9 15-inch NP900X4C-A03US - PCMark7: 4674
Bit Torrent
ThorsHammer
Posts: 2,400
Registered: ‎04-08-2011
Location: USA
0

Re: RapidBoot with SSD?


eos wrote:
Im sooo happy I dont have an SSD. They sound like a nightmare.

Seriously?  You have never used a SSD drive in a desktop or notebook computer?

802.11n
huberth
Posts: 538
Registered: ‎07-08-2009
Location: USA

Re: RapidBoot with SSD?

[ Edited ]

This person tested it and found no difference with or without Rapidboot on an SSD system:

 

http://forum.thinkpads.com/viewtopic.php?f=43&t=98690

 

I disabled my RapidBoot a while ago.


(I have SSWB  (Super Slow Warm Boot) thanks to "Thinkvantage Active Protection System Sensor Diagnostics" )

_______________________________________________________________________
W520 4270CTO i7-2820QM Quadro2000M 1920x1080 Display 16GB RAM 2x240GB Intel 510 SSDs (RAID 0) - BIOS 1.42 - PCMark7:4,568
Samsung Series 9 15-inch NP900X4C-A03US - PCMark7: 4674
Guru
harrisb
Posts: 1,017
Registered: ‎04-20-2008
Location: Cary, NC

Re: RapidBoot with SSD?

[ Edited ]
Thank you for the additional link! I cleaned up the Windows\PreFetch directory and let Windows rebuild it without RapidBood installed. I then reinstalled RapidBoot 1.12 and the problem that the Intel SSD Toolbox was reporting was gone. I believe that the issue was that I had originally just cloned the SSD from the original HDD and the PreFetch stuff from Windows in that configuration was still there. Silly me for not noticing.
 
I ran some timings with and without RapidBoot 1.12 installed:
 
1. Timings wi/o RapidBoot installed:  12 secs to Welcome Screen; 52 seconds to Desktop
2. Timings with RapidBoot Installed:  12 secs to Welcome Screen: 38 seconds to Desktop
 
This would seem to indicate that even though I have my boot drive on the SSD, there is still some improvement in my configuration. The following is the description of RapidBoot:
------------------------------------
RapidBoot is a utility that reduces the operating system boot time of ThinkPads running Windows 7. A new service called HyperW7Svc is installed and set to automatic start.
The following services are modified after the installation of Lenovo’s RapidBoot application.
Distributed Link Tracking Client is changed from Automatic to Automatic (delayed start)
IP Helper is changed from Automatic to Automatic (Delayed start)
Program Computability Assistance Service is changed from Automatic to Automatic (Delayed start)
Windows Search is changed from Automatic to Disabled.
 
W520, i7-2820QM, BIOS 1.41, 1920x1080 FHD, 32 GB RAM, 2000M NVIDIA GPU, Samsung 840 Pro 480GB SSD, Hitachi 1TB 7200rpm HDD, WD 2TB USB 3.0, eSata Plextor PX-LB950UE BluRay

W520, i7-2760QM, BIOS 1.41 1920x1080 FHD, 32 GB RAM, 1000M NVIDIA GPU, Crucial M500 480GB mSata SSD, Hitachi 500GB HDD, WD 2TB USB 3.0
WWAN
hazart
Posts: 386
Registered: ‎08-03-2009
Location: UK
0

Re: RapidBoot with SSD?


harrisb wrote:

Windows Search is changed from Automatic to Disabled.

 



RapidBoot disables Windows Search? I use Windows Search from time to time. (I haven't installed RapidBoot yet.)

Bit Torrent
ThorsHammer
Posts: 2,400
Registered: ‎04-08-2011
Location: USA
0

Re: RapidBoot with SSD?


harrisb wrote:

Windows Search is changed from Automatic to Disabled.

 


Do you use Outlook 2010?