Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
andyP
Posts: 9,295
Topics: 161
Kudos: 714
Solutions: 635
Registered: ‎11-27-2007
Location: Bonnie Scotland

Re: Can't Set Up Raid1 on W700ds with Windows 7 - Brand New Computer

Geophyte1,

 

at last - (gasp) - I'm glad you finally got this all sorted. :smileyvery-happy: It's been a bit of a marathon, but I can't express how glad I am that you've achieved your goal.

 

I've marked your post as the solution, as it is the solution to your question. This will also help future members with the same or similar problems jump to what worked for you without having to read the whole thread. If it isn't the solution for them, they will be able to start a new thread or post to this one.

 

Thanks again for posting what worked for you, hopefully this will help others.

 

Regards

Andy  

______________________________________


Please remember to come back and mark the post that you feel solved your question as the solution, it earns the member + points

Did you find a post helpfull? You can thank the member by clicking on the star to the left awarding them Kudos

Please add your type, model number and OS to your signature, it helps to help you.

Forum Search Option

T430 2347-G7U W8 x64, Yoga 10 HD+, Tablet 1838-2BG, T61p 6460-67G W7 x64, T43p 2668-G2G XP, T23 2647-9LG XP, plus a few more.

FYI Unsolicited Personal Messages will be ignored.

de.gif  Deutsche Community   es.gif  Comunidad en Español  uk.gif  English Community ru.gif Русскоязычное Сообщество

PepperonI blog 

SCSI Port
Geophyte1
Posts: 120
Registered: ‎02-03-2010
Location: Rockdale, Texas
0

Re: Can't Set Up Raid1 on W700ds with Windows 7 - Brand New Computer

Andy,

 

During this marathon you were the one that kept me going.

 

Thanks you very much.:manvery-happy:

 

And thanks to Harald for jumping in and showing the way.

 

Now we just need to get help from Lenovo and IBM to find the
"Final Answer".

 

Words simply cannot express my great appreciation.

 

Best  regards,

Geophyte1
W700ds 2757-CTO
Paper Tape
HaraldV
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎02-21-2010
Location: Nuremberg/Germany
0

Re: Can't Set Up Raid1 on W700ds with Windows 7 - Brand New Computer

Hi Geophyte1,

 

I managed to get an "old" drive because my dealer, where I bought the notebook tried the non working CD drives and then called lenovo support..

 

So it was itworks in nuremberg who helped me out with that boot problem.

 

I hope lenovo will find a solution. Maybe a firmware update for the drive will do the job.

 

Cheers,

Harald

SCSI Port
Geophyte1
Posts: 120
Registered: ‎02-03-2010
Location: Rockdale, Texas
0

Re: Can't Set Up Raid1 on W700ds with Windows 7 - Brand New Computer

Just an update.

 

I have now purchased my own FRU#: 42T2537 cd-dvd drive so that I no loner have to borrow someones drive in order to recover my new W700 computer if the need should arise.

 

I never did hear a word back from either time I escalated with the Atlanta Lenovo tech group.

 

I am certainly glad that this computer is apparently a good one except for the drive problem.

 

It would be nice to at least know if anyting is being done about the larger issue of what is causing the drive problem.

Geophyte1
W700ds 2757-CTO
Paper Tape
JohnM
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎01-28-2010
Location: California
0

Re: Can't Set Up Raid1 on W700ds with Windows 7 - Brand New Computer

Hello Geophyte1,

Have you checked compatibility?
Just an FYI for you.

It is always best to check with the software manufacturer FIRST. They will tell you if they have tested the product and the version, as well as whether or not it will work with Windows 7.
Check out the Windows 7 Compatibility site: (There you will find out about hardware and software compatibility.)
http://www.microsoft.com/windows/compatibility/en-us/default.aspx
There is a pulldown from which you can choose "hardware" and "software".

There are also some great articles, instructional videos and such to help with your Windows 7 at our Springboard site:
http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/default.aspx

In any event a lot of the times, Vista drivers will work in lieu of Windows 7 drivers, however, it's not 100%!

As stated previously, it's best to have the Windows 7 certified drivers installed.

Microsoft does have an official Windows 7 Support Forum located here http://social.technet.microsoft.com/Forums/en-US/category/w7itpro/ . It is supported by product specialists as well as engineers and support teams. You may want to check the threads available there for additional assistance and support.

Thanks again,
John M.
Microsoft Windows Client Support

SCSI Port
Geophyte1
Posts: 120
Registered: ‎02-03-2010
Location: Rockdale, Texas
0

Re: Can't Set Up Raid1 on W700ds with Windows 7 - Brand New Computer

JohnM,

 

It has been awhile since I visited this site but thanks for looking.

 

The drive in question is the drive that Lenovo sent installed on the W700ds - new from the factory  - so I would hope that they looked at compatibility before they shipped it in the new computer.

 

I never did check on compatibility because it came with the computer.  It is an interesting thought though.

 

Going back to an older generation of Lenovo cd-dvd drive fixed the issue.

 

If there is another issue that I'm missing please reply.

Geophyte1
W700ds 2757-CTO