Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
RAID Mirror
PanEuropean
Posts: 488
Registered: ‎02-17-2009
Location: Vancouver Island
0
Accepted Solution

Unique 'ThinkPad' Icon missing from Devices & Printers window

Hello All:

 

A few weeks ago, I did a complete re-installation of Windows 7 Pro on my W520.  Because I wanted to utilize the UEFI boot feature, I could not use the Lenovo restoration media to do the install, I had to use the generic Microsoft Windows 7 Pro SP1 media.

 

All went well, I seem to have managed to find and install all the W520-specific driver and software packages, and the computer works well.  But... for reasons unknown, I no longer see the unique 'ThinkPad' icon displayed when I go to the 'Devices & Printers' window.  Instead, I see a generic laptop icon.

 

All the desired menu options are available when I right-click on this icon.  So, my concern here is strictly cosmetic - how do I get the unique Lenovo ThinkPad icon back?  Does anyone know which of the Lenovo-specific software packages for the W520 contains the software that creates this icon?  I am thinking that perhaps if I re-install that software package, I might get the icon back.

 

All suggestions will be appreciated...

 

Michael

 

Generic Laptop Icon

Generic Laptop Icon

W520 (4270 CTO), which replaced a W500 (4062-27U), which replaced a T42P, which replaced an A21P...
RAID Mirror
PanEuropean
Posts: 488
Registered: ‎02-17-2009
Location: Vancouver Island
0

Re: Unique 'ThinkPad' Icon missing from Devices & Printers window

Dear Santa Claus:

 

Please don't let this message roll off the front page of the community forum without finding a solution... that's all I want for Christmas.

 

Michael  :smileywink:

W520 (4270 CTO), which replaced a W500 (4062-27U), which replaced a T42P, which replaced an A21P...
Guru
ColonelONeill
Posts: 6,641
Registered: ‎12-26-2009
Location: Toronto

Re: Unique 'ThinkPad' Icon missing from Devices & Printers window

Tried installing the Device Experience package off of System Update?
W520: i7-2720QM, Q2000M at 1090/695/1390, 22GB RAM, 500GB HDD, FHD screen
TPT1: 1839-23U, stock ICS
X61T: L7500, 3GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
RAID Mirror
PanEuropean
Posts: 488
Registered: ‎02-17-2009
Location: Vancouver Island
0

Re: Unique 'ThinkPad' Icon missing from Devices & Printers window

Well, System Update is not offering me 'device experience'.  When I run System Update, it doesn't offer me any software to install (sort of implying that my W520 is fully provisioned with the latest and greatest stuff).

 

Is it possible to manually retrieve 'device experience' from somwhere else on the Lenovo server?

 

Michael

 

PS: I'm in Toronto for the rest of the month - would be great if we could meet up over a coffee somewhere before you return to YVR.

W520 (4270 CTO), which replaced a W500 (4062-27U), which replaced a T42P, which replaced an A21P...
Retired Employee
JameZ
Posts: 3,110
Registered: ‎07-11-2010
Location: Malaysia

Re: Unique 'ThinkPad' Icon missing from Devices & Printers window

@PanEuropean,

You can download that here

http://support.lenovo.com/en_US/research/hints-or-tips/detail.page?&LegacyDocID=MIGR-74803

//JameZ

Check out the Community Knowledge Base for hints and tips.


Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!

If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"!




W520 | 4176-38U | i7 - 2720QM | Quardo 1000M | 8GB RAM | 60GB OCZ Agility 3

RAID Mirror
PanEuropean
Posts: 488
Registered: ‎02-17-2009
Location: Vancouver Island
0

Re: Unique 'ThinkPad' Icon missing from Devices & Printers window

James:

 

Thanks very much, that solved my problem.  Everything is working perfectly now.

 

Best regards,

 

Michael

W520 (4270 CTO), which replaced a W500 (4062-27U), which replaced a T42P, which replaced an A21P...
Retired Employee
JameZ
Posts: 3,110
Registered: ‎07-11-2010
Location: Malaysia
0

Re: Unique 'ThinkPad' Icon missing from Devices & Printers window

np man ...

Thanks ColonelONeill for suggesting at the first place ... I just go find the link ... =D

Check out the Community Knowledge Base for hints and tips.


Did someone help you today? Press the star on the left to thank them with a Kudo!

If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"!




W520 | 4176-38U | i7 - 2720QM | Quardo 1000M | 8GB RAM | 60GB OCZ Agility 3