Support in other languages: 
Reply
ice
Punch Card
ice
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎10-02-2008
Location: USA
0
Accepted Solution

Vista Ultimate & the ATI Radeon driver

[ Edited ]

I just got my first Thinkpad ever, a W500! WOOHOO!

 

As soon as I got my machine, I installed Windows Vista Ultimate 32-Bit on it since I already had a copy of Vista Ultimate with me. I believe it originally came with a 64-Bit install of Visa Home Basic.

 

After the fresh install, I downloaded the ThinkCenter System update tool, from Lenovo.com, and let it do its thing, updated Vista, etc. After a couple of reboots, I saw that I was using the Integrated graphics card. So, I installed the ATI Radeon driver and rebooted my machine.

Still, my machine is using the integrated graphics card, instead of the discrete. When I go to the Device manager, the ATI Mobility Radeon HD 3650 shows up with a yellow '!' and says "This device is not working properly because Windows cannot load the drivers required for this device. (Code 31)"

 

What do I need to do to get this working again?

Message Edited by ice on 10-02-2008 01:02 AM
Thinkpad W500, WSXGA+, ATI V5700. 4GB DDR3, 160GB@7200 RPM
andyP
Posts: 9,249
Topics: 182
Kudos: 711
Solutions: 630
Registered: ‎11-27-2007
Location: Bonnie Scotland
0

Re: Vista Ultimate & the ATI Radeon driver

Have you tried installing the driver with discrete graphics selected in BIOS? You can then change BIOS back to switchable afterwards.

Andy  


______________________________________


Please remember to come back and mark the post that you feel solved your question as the solution, it earns the member + points

Did you find a post helpfull? You can thank the member by clicking on the star to the left awarding them Kudos
Please add your type, model number and OS to your signature, it helps to help you. Forum Search Option

T430 2347-G7U W8 x64, Tablet 1838-2BG, T61p 6460-67G W7 x64, T43p 2668-G2G XP, T23 2647-9LG XP, plus a few more.
FYI Unsolicited Personal Messages will be ignored.

de.gif  Deutsche Community   es.gif  Comunidad en Español  uk.gif  English Community

PepperonI blog 

ice
Punch Card
ice
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎10-02-2008
Location: USA
0

Re: Vista Ultimate & the ATI Radeon driver

I tried that today. This didnt work. Device Manager still shows me that it is using the Mobile Intel 4 Series Express Chipset Family and the yellow '!' still shows up on the ATI Radeon 3650. The error message and the error code is still the same.

 

Any help?

Thinkpad W500, WSXGA+, ATI V5700. 4GB DDR3, 160GB@7200 RPM
ice
Punch Card
ice
Posts: 13
Registered: ‎10-02-2008
Location: USA
0

Re: Vista Ultimate & the ATI Radeon driver

Thanks. I believe after changing the BIOS settings, I hit ESC instead of F10. So, I didnt save the settings. Now I have my graphics card working correctly.
Thinkpad W500, WSXGA+, ATI V5700. 4GB DDR3, 160GB@7200 RPM