Support in other languages: 
Reply
Blue Screen Again
Zuxy
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-02-2010
Location: Beijing
0

W500 HD capped at SATA 1 (1.5Gbps)?

Hi all,

 

I have a W500 (TYPE 4061-B41) that is equipped with a Seagate 7200 rpm 160GB HD. The HD is marketed as capable of SATA II (3Gbps), but my W500 is only interfacing it with SATA I (1.5Gbps). Although I know that in practice the performance between SATA I and SATA II for a non SSD would be minimal but I still feel uneasy about it. Is there anything I can do about it?

WWAN
hazart
Posts: 386
Registered: ‎08-03-2009
Location: UK
0

Re: W500 HD capped at SATA 1 (1.5Gbps)?

As far as I know, W500 doesn't cap SATA speed by default. What is the model of your hard drive and how do you know it's capped at SATA I speed in your W500?

Token Ring
mtissington
Posts: 132
Registered: ‎04-17-2010
Location: USA
0

Re: W500 HD capped at SATA 1 (1.5Gbps)?

You may also have a jumper on the drive itself which limits it ... if so, simply remove it.

lead_org
Posts: 20,891
Topics: 128
Kudos: 1,249
Solutions: 1,339
Registered: ‎12-19-2008
Location: Australia, Melbourne
0

Re: W500 HD capped at SATA 1 (1.5Gbps)?

as said the W500 is not limited to SATAI speed, it is fully SATA II compatible. 

Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
Blue Screen Again
Zuxy
Posts: 4
Registered: ‎08-02-2010
Location: Beijing
0

Re: W500 HD capped at SATA 1 (1.5Gbps)?

I opened the case to take a look at the disk today. It's a Seagate Momentus 7200.3 (model ST9160411AS ). I did a few googling and Seagate markets it as SATA II but the one on my machine is labeled as 1.5 Gb/sec :-( So it's a special OEM model designed for ThinkPad? Is it possible to upgrade it with a new firmware?

lead_org
Posts: 20,891
Topics: 128
Kudos: 1,249
Solutions: 1,339
Registered: ‎12-19-2008
Location: Australia, Melbourne
0

Re: W500 HD capped at SATA 1 (1.5Gbps)?

Lenovo doesn't have the sort of firmware upgrade that you are after. 

Regards,

Jin Li

May this year, be the year of 'DO'!

I am a volunteer, and not a paid staff of Lenovo or Microsoft
IPnaSh
Posts: 2,402
Kudos: 369
Solutions: 126
Registered: ‎06-05-2010
Location: Rosario, Santa Fe, Argentina
0

Re: W500 HD capped at SATA 1 (1.5Gbps)?

Transfer rate is a chipset feature. If you update your BIOS, nothing will change.

 

Best regards.

IPnaSh
First Spanish Community Guru - Colaborador ad honorem

Lenovo