Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
SCSI Port
deickos
Posts: 66
Registered: ‎10-16-2010
Location: athens
0

W510- W520 : can they boot from Esata?

 

T500 and T510 cannot...

 

 

802.11n
ZipZap
Posts: 240
Registered: ‎09-19-2011
Location: USA
0

Re: W510- W520 : can they boot from Esata?

My W520 does indeed boot from eSATA. In fact, I bought a special cable so I can plug a 2.5" drive directly into the USB / eSATA port and boot right up:

 

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B002MKKTWA

 

I haven't checked out booting from my 3.5 drive in an enclosure.

SCSI Port
deickos
Posts: 66
Registered: ‎10-16-2010
Location: athens
0

Re: W510- W520 : can they boot from Esata?

 

that cable powers the hdd also?

 

well that seems a top end stuff - so how's your machine - any issues?

 

 

 

802.11n
ZipZap
Posts: 240
Registered: ‎09-19-2011
Location: USA
0

Re: W510- W520 : can they boot from Esata?

Yeah, that cable (or another brand like it) is the way to go. I like to boot experimental builds from the external drive - no fuss, muss or bother. No drive enclosure or external power source required. I get to leave my Utrabay drive installed.

 

The W520 is now working fine, since the release of BIOS 1.30 and Power Manager 3.62. I think you get a lot for the money, but it isn't perfect in every way. At this stage of the game, I would probably wait for the "W530" with Ivy Bridge, if I had the luxury. Main gripes: no USB 3 on the dock, only 2 external monitors permitted natively ( you can drive more via Displaylink etc). Otherwise, great machine.

 

 

SCSI Port
deickos
Posts: 66
Registered: ‎10-16-2010
Location: athens
0

Re: W510- W520 : can they boot from Esata?

 

I  too experiment multi linux boot but i have to do it with the second hdd in the bay -t would be better if i could boot from esata and just change hdds...

 

i just checked your machine rates like 7200 in cpu - my T500 gets 1800 and the T510 gets 2400 - your machine must fly !

but I love the 16:10 - it is so sad you cannot get it... 

and the T/W 520 / 510 are thicker than T/W 500 - hope 530 series be better...

 

 

 

 

 

 

Punch Card
denial
Posts: 49
Registered: ‎07-07-2011
Location: Sweden
0

Re: W510- W520 : can they boot from Esata?

Hi ZipZap,

 

can be your esata cable used also to connect the internal DVD drive if you remove it?

 

Thanks

 

802.11n
ZipZap
Posts: 240
Registered: ‎09-19-2011
Location: USA
0

Re: W510- W520 : can they boot from Esata?

No, the optical drive fits in the Ultrabay and has a different connector. Sorry.

Bit Torrent
ThorsHammer
Posts: 2,400
Registered: ‎04-08-2011
Location: USA
0

Re: W510- W520 : can they boot from Esata?


deickos wrote:

 

that cable powers the hdd also?

 

well that seems a top end stuff - so how's your machine - any issues?

 


It's actually a pretty well defined standard now called eSATAp.  More commonly referred to as a combo eSATA USB port.  The power come from the USB side.

SCSI Port
deickos
Posts: 66
Registered: ‎10-16-2010
Location: athens
0

Re: W510- W520 : can they boot from Esata?

[ Edited ]

 


ThorsHammer wrote:

deickos wrote:

 

that cable powers the hdd also?

 

well that seems a top end stuff - so how's your machine - any issues?

 


It's actually a pretty well defined standard now called eSATAp.  More commonly referred to as a combo eSATA USB port.  The power come from the USB side.


yea i too  was thinking to write about it -

do you know why T500/  510 cannot boot from esata/ usb?

 

 

802.11n
ZipZap
Posts: 240
Registered: ‎09-19-2011
Location: USA
0

passing thoughts on eSATA and USB 3 on the W520

[ Edited ]

 

Thor is correct about the eSATAp terminology. Good stuff.

 

The eSATA port on the machine as well as the eSATA port on the minidock are available simultaneously. So I am able to transfer data between eSATA disks.

 

I've found that eSATA runs at least as fast, perhaps faster, than USB 3 for disk transfers. I have both types of docks/enclosures. I like being able to leave a disk plugged into the minidock with eSATA, not possible with USB 3.