Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Maliha
Posts: 3,224
Registered: ‎07-31-2008
Location: Pakistan
0

Re: W510 wont detect 16GB RAM

2GB each? If so, then according to the tip you should use Slot 0 and 1 for them.

------------------------------------------------------------

Maliha (I don't work for lenovo)
ThinkPads:- T400[Win 7], T60[Win 7], IBM 240[Win XP]

IdeaPad: U350

Apple:- Macbook Air [Snow Leopard]
Did someone help you today? Compliment them with a
Kudos!
Was your question answered today? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
de.gif  Lenovo Deutsche Community   es.gif  Lenovo Comunidad en Español 
Visit my YouTube Channel

Paper Tape
aero77
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎01-09-2011
Location: france
0

Re: W510 wont detect 16GB RAM

The slot 1 is not recognized when there is a pin above.
If I puts 2gb on the 0 and 2gb on the slot 1 he(it) recognizes only 2gb instead of 4 gb

Maliha
Posts: 3,224
Registered: ‎07-31-2008
Location: Pakistan
0

Re: W510 wont detect 16GB RAM

Which OS are you using? specifically 64 or 32 bit? and what is the make, model and specification of the memory you're using?

------------------------------------------------------------

Maliha (I don't work for lenovo)
ThinkPads:- T400[Win 7], T60[Win 7], IBM 240[Win XP]

IdeaPad: U350

Apple:- Macbook Air [Snow Leopard]
Did someone help you today? Compliment them with a
Kudos!
Was your question answered today? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
de.gif  Lenovo Deutsche Community   es.gif  Lenovo Comunidad en Español 
Visit my YouTube Channel

Paper Tape
aero77
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎01-09-2011
Location: france
0

Re: W510 wont detect 16GB RAM

Hello
It is Windows 7 pro 64bit
For the moment I made try(essay) with the memory of origin

hynix semiconductor

2gb

source  SDP

memory revision code   304E

Maliha
Posts: 3,224
Registered: ‎07-31-2008
Location: Pakistan
0

Re: W510 wont detect 16GB RAM

[ Edited ]

Does the RAM meet one of the following specification given by lenovo?


PC3-8500 DDR3-1066


or PC3-10600 DDR3-1333 SODIMM


And, are you properly inserting it in the slot? see the videos to be sure:- http://www.lenovoservicetraining.com/ion/W510/index.html


If the RAM meets the specification and you're doing everything correctly, then either the RAM is faulty or the slot is malfunctioning.

------------------------------------------------------------

Maliha (I don't work for lenovo)
ThinkPads:- T400[Win 7], T60[Win 7], IBM 240[Win XP]

IdeaPad: U350

Apple:- Macbook Air [Snow Leopard]
Did someone help you today? Compliment them with a
Kudos!
Was your question answered today? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
de.gif  Lenovo Deutsche Community   es.gif  Lenovo Comunidad en Español 
Visit my YouTube Channel

Paper Tape
aero77
Posts: 6
Registered: ‎01-09-2011
Location: france
0

Re: W510 wont detect 16GB RAM

Yes the ram is the maid ddr3 pc8500
And everything is good to install(settle)
Needs he(it) to reinstall bios?

Maliha
Posts: 3,224
Registered: ‎07-31-2008
Location: Pakistan
0

Re: W510 wont detect 16GB RAM

Give it a try, use bootable version of BIOS update:- http://www-307.ibm.com/pc/support/site.wss/document.do?lndocid=MIGR-74859

 

Let us know how it goes.

------------------------------------------------------------

Maliha (I don't work for lenovo)
ThinkPads:- T400[Win 7], T60[Win 7], IBM 240[Win XP]

IdeaPad: U350

Apple:- Macbook Air [Snow Leopard]
Did someone help you today? Compliment them with a
Kudos!
Was your question answered today? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
de.gif  Lenovo Deutsche Community   es.gif  Lenovo Comunidad en Español 
Visit my YouTube Channel

Paper Tape
k4tr0y
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-30-2011
Location: USA
0

Re: W510 wont detect 16GB RAM

Hello,

 

I am also attempting to upgrade my W510 (Type: 4389AN4) from 2*2GB with 4*4GB. The RAM sticks are identical DDR3 PC3-10600 4GB sticks. I've upgraded my BIOS to the latest, which is 6NET76WW (1.37), and the BIOS continues to show the 8GB under the keyboard. 

 

I've removed all RAM, and tried the recommend slot suggestion with no luck. It only seems to recognize the RAM in the keyboard slots. It will recognize the smaller capacity RAM in the bottom slots, but not the larger sticks.

 

I also tried removing the keyboard sticks, listening for the fault, reinstalling, and nada.

 

Any other ideas?

Token Ring
muol
Posts: 138
Registered: ‎12-10-2008
Location: United States
0

Re: W510 wont detect 16GB RAM

Did you install each 4GB module by itself, just to check whether they are all OK? Another try maybe to reset to BIOS defaults.

----------------------------------
ThinkPad W700, W701, T40p, T420, X200S, TPT2, Twist, ThinkStation D20, ThinkCentre M90z, M92p
Paper Tape
k4tr0y
Posts: 2
Registered: ‎06-30-2011
Location: USA
0

Re: W510 wont detect 16GB RAM

Yep, and each 4GB stick showed up correctly in BIOS. I reset to Factory with the original BIOS, but forgot to do it with the updated BIOS. However, resetting the updated BIOS (1.37) still only shows the RAM from the keyboard slots for an 8GB total...