Support in other languages: 
Reply
SCSI Port
maortl
Posts: 73
Registered: ‎09-06-2011
Location: Israel
0

installing new kingston PnP 2x4GB 1600mhz

[ Edited ]

hey guys i just got 

Kingston HyperX Plug n Play 8 GB Kit (2x4GB Modules) 1600MHz DDR3 SODIMM

 

my system is the (w520 4270CTO)  i7-2720QM 

i currently have 1 stick of 4gb on slot #1 that came with the laptop (samsung M471B5273DH0-CH9 which is 1333mhz)

 

but after installing the new rams combined with the current ram

 

Link to picture

 

are those results normal??? or it seems that the combination of the 3 sticks downgraded the speed to less than 1333mhz???

 

thanks in advance 

 

 

Moderator note; picture(s) totalling >50K converted to link(s) Forum Rules



802.11n
ZipZap
Posts: 240
Registered: ‎09-19-2011
Location: USA

DDR = double data rate

[ Edited ]

Hi,

 

    DDR RAM means double data rate (transfers on the leading and trailing edge of the clock). So multiple your clock rate by 2 to get the correct data transfer rate.

 

    In any case, you will always run at the speed of the slowest DIMM in your system. My advice is to toss the 1333 DIMM if you want to run full tilt.

 

 

                                                                ZZ

SCSI Port
maortl
Posts: 73
Registered: ‎09-06-2011
Location: Israel
0

Re: DDR = double data rate

so it runs on 1333mhz now?
i didnt know about the 2 multiply so i thought it runs slower now for some wierd conflict :smileyhappy:
802.11n
ZipZap
Posts: 240
Registered: ‎09-19-2011
Location: USA

Re: DDR = double data rate

Shalom, Maorti,

 

     Yes, you are running at 1333Mhz. No worries!

 

     You might want to get two more 4GB 1600Mhz DIMMs for 1600Mhz performance with 16GB (ditch the 1333 DIMM).  You are not running dual channels in your current configuration.

 

 

                                                 ZZ

Fanfold Paper
9buck9
Posts: 8
Registered: ‎02-12-2012
Location: Canada
0

Re: DDR = double data rate

If i put ddr 3 ram 1600 mhz and i remove the 1333 mhz, did the systeme will support 1600 mhz or he will slow my ram to 1333 mhz ?

802.11n
ZipZap
Posts: 240
Registered: ‎09-19-2011
Location: USA
0

Re: DDR = double data rate

The quad cores support 1600Mhz

Token Ring
w520user999
Posts: 54
Registered: ‎07-27-2011
Location: Canada
0

SUPPORT DISABLED WITH BIOS 1.37

These RAM modules no longer function at the rated speed with BIOS 1.37

 

See this post

W520: UNSUPPORTED SYSTEM