Support in other languages: 
Serial Port
filbert

Win7 install, damaged Rescue & recovery, advice needed

I have a TP X300 currently dual booting Win XP and Win 7 beta. The Win 7 partition is flaky and I want to install the release version. In addition, the rescue partition is damaged in that holding down the blue button just gives me the OS choice menu (XP or Win7). I think this happened when I installed the Win7 beta - I assume it updated the boot partition and didn't understand the special features it contained. I need some advice on the correct approach to rebuilding the system (I'd still like to keep the dual boot but it will probably be linux rather than Win XP). I have the rescue disks that came with the PC and I don't mind a total wipeout and clean install. I assume that, if I use the rescue disks, I can rebuild the XP installation and the R&R function - I hope this is sytraightforward as I have never done it before 0n any of my previous TPs. Assuming this is successful , how do I go about installing Win 7 and avoiding damaging the R&R partition again? Any help would be welcome Rgrds Peter
Long time ThinkPad user: 770, 600, T40, X300, now X301 240gb SSD, 8 GB ram (love it! :-)) Windows 7 64 bit.
Community Moderator
zoltanthegypsy

Re: Win7 install, damaged Rescue & recovery, advice needed

Setting up dual-boot without breaking the magic in the MBR and sector 0 is very iffy, as you have learned.

I've got some rambling (old) notes here (see "Partitioning"): Think Pad T61

I don't think there's any way to install Win 7 without killing the "think" button and the old-style R&R unless you are installing from Lenovo factory media.  You probably can install Linux after XP if you are careful but that doesn't get you Win 7.