Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Ctrl-Alt-Del
eosme
Posts: 16
Registered: ‎06-11-2009
Location: California
0

can X200 handle Windows 7 - 64bit

is there any particular benefit in using the 64bit vs. the 32bit?  my x200 has 4GB ram.
ajkula66
Posts: 7,628
Kudos: 758
Solutions: 801
Registered: ‎11-23-2007
Location: USA

Re: can X200 handle Windows 7 - 64bit

Your machine will handle any 64-bit OS just fine.


Newer hardware utilizes newer OS much better, and it's a sin not to be able to have that thing fly with 8GB of RAM someday soon...

 

My $0.02...only

Cheers,

George




In daily use: R60F, R500F, T61, T410

Collecting dust: T60

Enjoying retirement: A31p, T42p,

Non-ThinkPads: Panasonic CF-31 & CF-52, HP 8760W




Starting Thursday, 08/14/2014 I'll be away from the forums until further notice. Please do NOT send private messages since I won't be able to read them. Thank you.
.
Fanfold Paper
gnite
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎02-05-2014
Location: poland
0

Re: can X200 handle Windows 7 - 64bit

and does it prove faster with 4gb onboard ram on 64  bit than 32 with its addressed 3gb?

 

I mean subjective speed of the system and applications like browsers, office editors, ets.

 

Hi, everyone. I am a happy user of windows 7 32  bit on x200. The machine works flawlessly, but it is easy to overdo with opened tabs in chrome.

Punch Card
Billaboard
Posts: 71
Registered: ‎01-15-2013
Location: UK
0

Re: can X200 handle Windows 7 - 64bit

I'm actually keen to know whether my X200T will actually take more than 4gb of ram. I bought one 4gb card, and it doesn't work in the X200.

 

The same ram works fine in the SL510 that I'm typing on.

ajkula66
Posts: 7,628
Kudos: 758
Solutions: 801
Registered: ‎11-23-2007
Location: USA
0

Re: can X200 handle Windows 7 - 64bit


Billaboard wrote:

I'm actually keen to know whether my X200T will actually take more than 4gb of ram. I bought one 4gb card, and it doesn't work in the X200.

 

The same ram works fine in the SL510 that I'm typing on.


Yes it will. I've had 8GB in X200T machines on more than one occasion.

Cheers,

George




In daily use: R60F, R500F, T61, T410

Collecting dust: T60

Enjoying retirement: A31p, T42p,

Non-ThinkPads: Panasonic CF-31 & CF-52, HP 8760W




Starting Thursday, 08/14/2014 I'll be away from the forums until further notice. Please do NOT send private messages since I won't be able to read them. Thank you.
.
Fanfold Paper
gnite
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎02-05-2014
Location: poland
0

Re: can X200 handle Windows 7 - 64bit

Bump original question. How about 4gb on 64-bit x200 vs 3gb on 32-bit? Any experiences with that?

Bit Torrent
sclexman
Posts: 1,159
Registered: ‎11-22-2011
Location: south carolina
0

Re: can X200 handle Windows 7 - 64bit

[ Edited ]

32 bit windows - 4 GB memory

windows will use the 1st 3 GB and will use a small amount of fixed memory in the 4th GB. (let's say 256k).

 

64 bit windows - 4 GB memory

windows will use all  of it

==

I have win 7 64 bit, 4 GB ram.  It stays around 1900 GB used. It almost never goes above 3 GB used unless I  am runing windows update. If you bought the memory, let's use it. In my example, you have 1/3 more memory, less paging. Paging SSD vs HDD, how hard are you hitting up the C drive? Will your machine run blazing over 32 bit, probably not.  Better, yes.  Additionally, some I/O is buffered in ram.  This would be a noticeable improvement. Think a backup to a CD drive (or HDD).  I can now que up 50 writes vs 30. Think a page fault to ram is 1 mile, to HDD is 400 miles.  

===

If win 7, go to:

http://addgadgets.com/

download the ALL CPU Gadget << shows memory usage also

Fanfold Paper
gnite
Posts: 19
Registered: ‎02-05-2014
Location: poland
0

Re: can X200 handle Windows 7 - 64bit

[ Edited ]

Yes, I know. I am interested about subjective experiences of users who tried either option.

Bit Torrent
sclexman
Posts: 1,159
Registered: ‎11-22-2011
Location: south carolina
0

Re: can X200 handle Windows 7 - 64bit

[ Edited ]

You took a 2009 post and made it current.

and does it prove faster with 4gb onboard ram on 64  bit than 32 with its addressed 3gb? << you.

subjective<< you.

but it is easy to overdo with opened tabs in chrome.  << you.

==

Open a new  post, It is easy to overdo my machine, esp. with opend tabs. 

==

buy a machine that supports your experience.

--

specify your machine type and  model

What OS was shipped, xp?