Support in other languages: 
Reply
Guru
PeterTWJ
Posts: 1,050
Registered: ‎05-29-2010
Location: Singapore
0

Smooth experience with Windows Developer Preview - VMware

Hi all

I am not sure whether Windows 8 Preview can run on VMware Player, but I am sure it can run on VMware Workstation 8. Installation would fail when installing Windows 8 in VMware Workstation 7 or lower.

 

1. Select your ISO image
2. Set the OS to 'Other' for x86 Win8 or 'Other x64' for x64 Win8 (Set it to Windows 7 or 7 x64 slow down performance)
3. Set it to 1 GB or more RAM is recommended
4. Set it to LSI Logic SAS, SCSI HDD (Workstation 8 only)

5. Set it to 12GB or more is recommended. Sufficient free space. Allocate all disk space now

6. After installing and logged in to Windows 8, go to Control Panel > System > System Properties > Advanced > Performance > Settings > Under Visual Effect, uncheck everything except:
- Enable Aero Peek

- Enable Transparent Glass

- Show Window Content while dragging

- Smooth edge of screen fonts

 

Currently, VMware Tools for Windows 8 is unavailable and VMware Tools on Windows 7 might not work properly on Windows 8. I tried it and it crashes and require reversing of snapshot or reset Windows.

Cheers :smileyvery-happy:

Peter

=============================================
Does someone post helps you? Give them a kudos as a reward, as they will do better to improve :smileyvery-happy:

Refunded Set: W510, 4876-A11

Current Set: W520, 4284-A99

 

Dolby Home Theater v4! on T520 or W520:

http://forums.lenovo.com/t5/W-Series-ThinkPad-Laptops/W520-Sound-Enhancement-Thread/m-p/451401#M1551...  

Guru
ColonelONeill
Posts: 6,377
Registered: ‎12-26-2009
Location: Toronto
0

Re: Smooth experience with Windows Developer Preview - VMware

Weird. I insalled VMWare 8's tools just fine on the Developer's Preview.
W520: i7-2720QM, Q2000M at 1090/695/1390, 22GB RAM, 500GB HDD, FHD screen
TPT1: 1839-23U, stock ICS
X61T: L7500, 3GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
Community Moderator
zoltanthegypsy
Posts: 3,187
Registered: ‎01-13-2008
Location: Bainbridge Island, WA, USA
0

Re: Smooth experience with Windows Developer Preview - VMware

[ Edited ]

Hey PeterTWJ,

 

I've installed Windows 8 Developer Preview in VMware Player.  It requires the latest version 4 of Player, and a little fiddling.  A few quick notes off the top of my head:

 

Last I looked, Player 4 wasn't available as a separate download, but it can be found here: NVM, I see that it's now available from the regular VMWare download page.

 

I got this error: "Vmware Workstation 8 Windows Cannot Read the <ProductKey> settings from the unattend answer file" and constant reboot when installing.  Edited the VM and removed the virtual floppy.  That fixed it.  Go figure.

 

Once installed, apps wouldn't launch.  Resolution at or above 1024x768 fixed that.  Likewise, go figure.

 

Thanks for posting your info.

 

[edit]  Player offered an automatic install of Tools, which didn't do anything.  Manually installing from the virtual CD seemed to work OK.  Tools version 8.8.0.7539.

 

Z.


The large print: please read the Community Participation Rules before posting. Include as much information as possible: model, machine type, operating system, and a descriptive subject line. Do not include personal information: serial number, telephone number, email address, etc.

 

The fine print: I do not work for, nor do I speak for Lenovo. Unsolicited private messages will be ignored. ... GeezBlog

Guru
PeterTWJ
Posts: 1,050
Registered: ‎05-29-2010
Location: Singapore
0

Re: Smooth experience with Windows Developer Preview - VMware

[ Edited ]

Hi all

This is weird, now I manage to install VMware Tools without the VGA driver. However, till now I do not have network connections for my Windows 8.  

 

I am still figuring out, I would update when I find more info about it.

Thanks :smileyvery-happy:

Peter

=============================================
Does someone post helps you? Give them a kudos as a reward, as they will do better to improve :smileyvery-happy:

Refunded Set: W510, 4876-A11

Current Set: W520, 4284-A99

 

Dolby Home Theater v4! on T520 or W520:

http://forums.lenovo.com/t5/W-Series-ThinkPad-Laptops/W520-Sound-Enhancement-Thread/m-p/451401#M1551...  

Guru
ColonelONeill
Posts: 6,377
Registered: ‎12-26-2009
Location: Toronto
0

Re: Smooth experience with Windows Developer Preview - VMware

You might want to check if you're using NAT or Bridged connections. And the two VMware network services are running.
W520: i7-2720QM, Q2000M at 1090/695/1390, 22GB RAM, 500GB HDD, FHD screen
TPT1: 1839-23U, stock ICS
X61T: L7500, 3GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase