Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Fanfold Paper
dusshyi
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎03-19-2012
Location: Montreal
0

Windows 8 Consumer Preview issue on W520

I installed the Windows 8 Consumer Preview last week and I have issues with ThinkVantage Toolbox and Lenovo System Update.

 

- Once I launch the ThinkVantage gives me error with Un-identified OS.

- Lenovo System Update gives me error once I start scanning for the new updates.

- Battery draining fast on the W520 system with the Windows 8.

 

Does anyone have similar issue with Windows 8 Consumer Preview? I'm looking for a solution.

Guru
ColonelONeill
Posts: 6,794
Registered: ‎12-26-2009
Location: Toronto
0

Re: Windows 8 Consumer Preview issue on W520

Well, it is a beta, so don't expect all drivers to install properly. You'll have to try installing each driver manually, and hope that they work.
W520: i7-2720QM, Q2000M at 1090/695/1390, 22GB RAM, 500GB HDD, FHD screen
TPT1: 1839-23U, stock ICS
X61T: L7500, 3GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
Fanfold Paper
dusshyi
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎03-19-2012
Location: Montreal
0

Re: Windows 8 Consumer Preview issue on W520

Well I upgrade my PC from windows 7. So, you saying I should uninstall all the Lenovo drivers and install it again manually?
Guru
ColonelONeill
Posts: 6,794
Registered: ‎12-26-2009
Location: Toronto
0

Re: Windows 8 Consumer Preview issue on W520

You can try, but they probably won't work.
W520: i7-2720QM, Q2000M at 1090/695/1390, 22GB RAM, 500GB HDD, FHD screen
TPT1: 1839-23U, stock ICS
X61T: L7500, 3GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
Fanfold Paper
dusshyi
Posts: 10
Registered: ‎03-19-2012
Location: Montreal
0

Re: Windows 8 Consumer Preview issue on W520

NVidia recently released the new driver! I installed it and I see things works much better than before. I hope Lenovo would release the drivers sooner.
Paper Tape
Fullmetal691
Posts: 1
Registered: ‎03-24-2012
Location: Ohio
0

Re: Windows 8 Consumer Preview issue on W520

Mine won't even boot when the Quadro 2000M is enabled. It just completely hangs, and won't even respond to the power button being held down. I had to remove the battery and unplug it just to get it to shut off.