Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
Serial Port
Bajpai
Posts: 117
Registered: ‎01-02-2008
Location: Pune, India
0

Advance preparation -- Vista SP1

The final countdown for Vista SP1 has begun. This might be good time to consider how the enduser should prepare himself for a painless installation of SP1. (Oh yes! We are all allowed to dream, before the nightmare unfurls.)
 
Has anyone who may have been involved in testing, noticed any issues with Vista SP1 and T61 ThinkPad?
 
Sushil
Sushil
_________________________________________________________________
ThinkPad T61, (7658CTO), T7500, Integrated Graphics, 320 GB HDD, 3 GB RAM, 1 GB Intel Turbo Memory, Vista (32 bit) Business
JaneL
Posts: 3,876
Registered: ‎11-20-2007
Location: Greenville, SC USA
0

Re: Advance preparation -- Vista SP1

Have a good backup before you start!  (Or two...)

English English Community   Deutsche Deutsche Community   Español Comunidad en Español   ru.gif Русскоязычное Сообщество


Jane

ThinkPad Slate, T410s, X301, X200 Tablet, T60p, HP TouchPad, iPad Air 2, iPhone 5S, IdeaTab A2107A, Yoga Tablet, Yoga 3 Pro
I am not a Lenovo Employee.
If you find a post helpful and it answers your question, please mark it as an "Accepted Solution"!

Serial Port
Bajpai
Posts: 117
Registered: ‎01-02-2008
Location: Pune, India
0

Re: Advance preparation -- Vista SP1

[ Edited ]
Thanks. I was anyway thinking of making an image using Acronis 11 Home on an external drive. I'll ensure that it's done.
 
Any idea whether Lenovo have issued any patches or advisaries in preparation of Vista SP1?


Message Edited by Bajpai on 02-13-2008 12:14 AM
Sushil
_________________________________________________________________
ThinkPad T61, (7658CTO), T7500, Integrated Graphics, 320 GB HDD, 3 GB RAM, 1 GB Intel Turbo Memory, Vista (32 bit) Business
andyP
Posts: 9,295
Topics: 161
Kudos: 712
Solutions: 636
Registered: ‎11-27-2007
Location: Bonnie Scotland
0

Re: Advance preparation -- Vista SP1

[ Edited ]


nonny wrote:
Have a good backup before you start!  (Or two...)
I agree, I'm a "belt and braces" person for such occasions.


Bajpai wrote:
Any idea whether Lenovo have issued any patches or advisaries in preparation of Vista SP1?


Lenovo, as other manufactures, were released it on 4th Feb. They are probably looking at it very closely. My advice would be to keep an eye on the main support site and driver matrice site for your TP, that's where you'll see any patches first.


Message Edited by andyP on 02-12-2008 08:41 PM

Andy  

______________________________________


Please remember to come back and mark the post that you feel solved your question as the solution, it earns the member + points

Did you find a post helpfull? You can thank the member by clicking on the star to the left awarding them Kudos

Please add your type, model number and OS to your signature, it helps to help you.

Forum Search Option

T430 2347-G7U W8 x64, Yoga 10 HD+, Tablet 1838-2BG, T61p 6460-67G W7 x64, T43p 2668-G2G XP, T23 2647-9LG XP, plus a few more.

FYI Unsolicited Personal Messages will be ignored.

de.gif  Deutsche Community   es.gif  Comunidad en Español  uk.gif  English Community ru.gif Русскоязычное Сообщество

PepperonI blog 

Serial Port
Bajpai
Posts: 117
Registered: ‎01-02-2008
Location: Pune, India
0

Re: Advance preparation -- Vista SP1

Lenovo appear to have released the first patch for Rescue and Recovery 4.2 for Windows Vista SP1, the link for which appears at:
 
 
If I discover any more patches I'll post them here.
 
Sushil
 
 
Sushil
_________________________________________________________________
ThinkPad T61, (7658CTO), T7500, Integrated Graphics, 320 GB HDD, 3 GB RAM, 1 GB Intel Turbo Memory, Vista (32 bit) Business
billbolton
Posts: 1,865
Topics: 69
Kudos: 205
Solutions: 105
Registered: ‎12-02-2007
Location: Sydney, Australia - Best Address on Earth
0

Re: Advance preparation -- Vista SP1

I now have Vista SP1 RTM x86 and x64 upgrades installed and running on *6x ThinkPad systems.  Two of the installations were on systems that had previously had the SP1 RC installed and two were on systems that had not had any SP1 version previously installed.  One of the upgrades was to a Lenovo supplied Vista Business x86 image, and the others were to Microsoft supplied retail Vista Ultimate x86 and x64 images.
 
The SP1 RTM code installed without any issues on all the systems and is running fine in production.
 
Cheers,
 
Bill
------------------------------
I don't work for Lenovo
goretsky
Posts: 2,064
Topics: 19
Kudos: 370
Solutions: 145
Registered: ‎12-01-2007
Location: California, USA
0

Re: Advance preparation -- Vista SP1

Hello,
 
No problems noted upgrading a T61p (FRU 6459-CTO) running a retail version of Microsoft Windows Vista Ultimate Edition (x64) to SP1.
 
Regards,
 
Aryeh Goretsky
 


I am a volunteer and neither a Lenovo nor a Microsoft employee. • Dexter is a good dog • Dexter je dobrý pes
S230u (3347-4HU)X220 (4286-CTO)W510 (4318-CTO)W530 (2441-4R3)X100e (3508-CTO)X120e (0596-CTO)T61p (6459-CTO)T43p (2678-H7U)T42 (2378-R4U)T23 (2648-LU7)
de.gif  Deutsche Community es.gif  Comunidad en Español ru.gif Русскоязычное Сообщество
Punch Card
jasperjugan
Posts: 89
Registered: ‎02-24-2008
Location: San Juan, Metro Manila, Philippines
0

Re: Advance preparation -- Vista SP1

i noticed a significant speed difference in a friend's x61 with SP1 RTM
--------
Jasper Jugan - http://www.backpackboy.com
x61 Tablet | 1.8Ghz LV7700 | 4GB RAM | MultiView/MultiTouch | Windows Vista Ultimate 64-bit :smileyhappy: