Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Paper Tape
duewest

Vista Internet Hangs after 10 min on ADSL

Hi Everyone,

I'm an IT tech - I have a couple of clients with A55's on Vista Business connected on ADSL to Bigpond (Australia). Both exhibit the same symptoms - different locations, different modems.

When they start up their PC's they can browse the Internet for about 10 minutes, then they get time outs to all sites. This happens whether they use ie7 or Firefox so it's not a browser issue. When the www fails, I can open a dos box and still ping outside IP's and get DNS resolution (nslookup) so the Internet is still available!

There ar no viruses, spyware or other background processes or tcp activity that would cause this (monitored both). All drivers for network chipset are up to date. Firewall is not blocking otherwise the first 10 min would not work.

I've tried disabling Vista's new autotuning, but that makes no difference (netsh interface tcp set global autotuning=diabled rss=disabled). I've replaced their ADSL modems - same problem. Their hardware is new and passes all diagnostics - it's not a hardware problem.

Has anyone had the same problem and if so did you find an answer short of formatting the hdd and installing XP?

Cheers,

Due West
goretsky
Topics: 19
Kudos: 370
Solutions: 145

Re: Vista Internet Hangs after 10 min on ADSL

Hello,

Have you checked the MTU setting on the router? 

Regards,

Aryeh Goretsky

I am a volunteer and neither a Lenovo nor a Microsoft employee. • Dexter is a good dog • Dexter je dobrý pes
S230u (3347-4HU)X220 (4286-CTO)W510 (4318-CTO)W530 (2441-4R3)X100e (3508-CTO)X120e (0596-CTO)T61p (6459-CTO)T43p (2678-H7U)T42 (2378-R4U)T23 (2648-LU7)
de.gif  Deutsche Community es.gif  Comunidad en Español ru.gif Русскоязычное Сообщество
Paper Tape
duewest

Hi Aryeh,