Support in other languages: 
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 
Reply
What's DOS?
noone42
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-28-2011
Location: swiss
0

g770 xp amd driver

Hello 2 all :smileyhappy:

I am VERY satisfied with my new lenovo g770 except one thing!

All drivers i needed for Windows XP Pro SP3 are there and working fine.

But i can't get my AMD HD6650M getting to work in XP! (HD6650M is running great in Win 7)

Problem might be the switching between the onboard (or better incpu ) Intel HD3000 graphics ( HD3000 works fine in XP )

and the extern AMD HD6650M. Did someone else has this problem and find a solution?

( I tried patching other drivers to proper ven 1002 dev 6741 subsys 397617aa but no success :smileysad: )

Any help is really appreciated!

Thank you very much


Maliha
Posts: 3,224
Registered: ‎07-31-2008
Location: Pakistan
0

Re: g770 xp amd driver

Hi and welcome to the forum!

 

To the best of my knowledge, Win XP doesn't support graphics card switching. I suggest to consider upgrading to Win 7.

------------------------------------------------------------

Maliha (I don't work for lenovo)
ThinkPads:- T400[Win 7], T60[Win 7], IBM 240[Win XP]

IdeaPad: U350

Apple:- Macbook Air [Snow Leopard]
Did someone help you today? Compliment them with a
Kudos!
Was your question answered today? Mark it as an Accepted Solution
de.gif  Lenovo Deutsche Community   es.gif  Lenovo Comunidad en Español 
Visit my YouTube Channel

What's DOS?
noone42
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-28-2011
Location: swiss
0

Re: g770 xp amd driver

Hi there and thanks for your reply.

As i wrote this card runs fine in Win 7 :smileywink:

I multiboot 6 OS + memtest on my G770 and i need this card to work also under XP. ( If possible)

But thanks for the hint that XP maybe dosent support any GFX switching. I try to check this out.

Any other good advice is still very welcome.

Thanks!

 

 

 

 

Guru
ColonelONeill
Posts: 6,784
Registered: ‎12-26-2009
Location: Toronto
0

Re: g770 xp amd driver

XP definitely doesn't support switchable graphics.

You'll have to set the BIOS to either discrete or integrated.
W520: i7-2720QM, Q2000M at 1090/695/1390, 22GB RAM, 500GB HDD, FHD screen
TPT1: 1839-23U, stock ICS
X61T: L7500, 3GB RAM, 500GB HDD, XGA screen, Ultrabase
What's DOS?
noone42
Posts: 3
Registered: ‎11-28-2011
Location: swiss
0

Re: g770 xp amd driver

Hello again :smileyhappy:

 

On my G770 Bios i only can select between UMA ( integrated Intel GFX ) and switchable.

So i cant force discrete to use by default i guess(??) Maybe i need a bios update ( or unlock :smileywink: ??)

Looks like XP really cant switch GFX for performance / accu lifetime

Same problem with NVIDIA GFX cards useing OPTIMUS tech in XP / VISTA

 

Thanks for all your help!

 

G770 is still a great buy!